blonde poker forum

Poker Forums => The Rail => Topic started by: Boba Fett on June 24, 2006, 05:19:27 PM



Title: Underraising
Post by: Boba Fett on June 24, 2006, 05:19:27 PM
Does anyone know the exact rule for underraises?  My understanding is that if there was an underraise for an all in, everyone else could only call and not reraise it under any circumstances.  Is this correct or is there an exception for someone else going all in too?

Last night at the Stanley Casino, during the rebuy period so chipstacks were low and it didnt cause too much of a problem(but it could have if it was later in the tourney), 3 players in the hand, player 1 bets 500 of his 700 at the flop, I go all in for 550.  At this point I assume player 3(who has about 2000)and player 1 can only call the 550.  Player 3 calls the 550 and player 1 goes all in for the extra 50+150.  Player 3 was also pretty certain he couldnt dot hat either but the ruling from the dealer and the TD was that "You can go all in at any time".  Didnt make a fuss over it after that as I was all in anyway and it didnt affect me much and player 3 was calling of course after already putting in 550.

As I said, i accepted the ruling at the time, is that the correct call or was I correct in thinking an underraise cant be re-raised under any circumstances?


Title: Re: Underraising
Post by: AdamM on June 24, 2006, 05:41:10 PM
your player 3 can reraise but once he calls player 1 cannot stick his last 100 in until the turn.

six players at a table

player A SB 100
Player B BB 200
player C call 200
Player D raise 800 to 1000
Player E re-raises allin to 1500, the minimum raise is 1000 (200+800) + 800 so this is an underraise.
player F,A or B may pass, call OR re-reraise any ammount as he has not yet acted.
Player C can re-reraise as he is raising player D's bet
If players F,A,B or C do not raise player D CANNOT reraise because his raise has been underraised, if someone else has reraised more than player Es correct raise would have been (which I think would be 200+800+800+800 = 2600)Player D can re-re-raise.

I think quite often if there's an under-raise people panic and just say "no more raising" but that's wrong. the same seems to be the case here but in reverse, bet it if you've got it

hopefuly one of our resident TDs will check my answer. 


Title: Re: Underraising
Post by: Scottish Dave on June 24, 2006, 05:48:05 PM
Does anyone know the exact rule for underraises?  My understanding is that if there was an underraise for an all in, everyone else could only call and not reraise it under any circumstances.  Is this correct or is there an exception for someone else going all in too?

Last night at the Stanley Casino, during the rebuy period so chipstacks were low and it didnt cause too much of a problem(but it could have if it was later in the tourney), 3 players in the hand, player 1 bets 500 of his 700 at the flop, I go all in for 550.  At this point I assume player 3(who has about 2000)and player 1 can only call the 550.  Player 3 calls the 550 and player 1 goes all in for the extra 50+150.  Player 3 was also pretty certain he couldnt dot hat either but the ruling from the dealer and the TD was that "You can go all in at any time".  Didnt make a fuss over it after that as I was all in anyway and it didnt affect me much and player 3 was calling of course after already putting in 550.

As I said, i accepted the ruling at the time, is that the correct call or was I correct in thinking an underraise cant be re-raised under any circumstances?

Let me guys, you lost the hand....the tourney and all your rent money on the black jack table....and this is the longest Bad beat story youve posted?

how did you finish in the CinCin freezeout after i left?


Title: Re: Underraising
Post by: londonpokergirl on June 24, 2006, 05:51:18 PM
Does anyone know the exact rule for underraises?  My understanding is that if there was an underraise for an all in, everyone else could only call and not reraise it under any circumstances.  Is this correct or is there an exception for someone else going all in too?

Last night at the Stanley Casino, during the rebuy period so chipstacks were low and it didnt cause too much of a problem(but it could have if it was later in the tourney), 3 players in the hand, player 1 bets 500 of his 700 at the flop, I go all in for 550.  At this point I assume player 3(who has about 2000)and player 1 can only call the 550.  Player 3 calls the 550 and player 1 goes all in for the extra 50+150.  Player 3 was also pretty certain he couldnt dot hat either but the ruling from the dealer and the TD was that "You can go all in at any time".  Didnt make a fuss over it after that as I was all in anyway and it didnt affect me much and player 3 was calling of course after already putting in 550.

As I said, i accepted the ruling at the time, is that the correct call or was I correct in thinking an underraise cant be re-raised under any circumstances?

as player 3 hasn't yet acted he can reraise


Title: Re: Underraising
Post by: Boba Fett on June 24, 2006, 05:56:30 PM
Does anyone know the exact rule for underraises?  My understanding is that if there was an underraise for an all in, everyone else could only call and not reraise it under any circumstances.  Is this correct or is there an exception for someone else going all in too?

Last night at the Stanley Casino, during the rebuy period so chipstacks were low and it didnt cause too much of a problem(but it could have if it was later in the tourney), 3 players in the hand, player 1 bets 500 of his 700 at the flop, I go all in for 550.  At this point I assume player 3(who has about 2000)and player 1 can only call the 550.  Player 3 calls the 550 and player 1 goes all in for the extra 50+150.  Player 3 was also pretty certain he couldnt dot hat either but the ruling from the dealer and the TD was that "You can go all in at any time".  Didnt make a fuss over it after that as I was all in anyway and it didnt affect me much and player 3 was calling of course after already putting in 550.

As I said, i accepted the ruling at the time, is that the correct call or was I correct in thinking an underraise cant be re-raised under any circumstances?

Let me guys, you lost the hand....the tourney and all your rent money on the black jack table....and this is the longest Bad beat story youve posted?

how did you finish in the CinCin freezeout after i left?
Haha, yeah I lost the hand, wasnt a bad beat at all though, pushed in with bottom set during the rbeuys and ran into top set.

Not a bad beat story at all, went on to final table and spectacularly throw it all away.  At cincins it was down to 2 tables when i went out, QQ V Fergus8's A8 suited and he hit the A2345 straight


Title: Re: Underraising
Post by: Boba Fett on June 24, 2006, 05:57:25 PM
Does anyone know the exact rule for underraises?  My understanding is that if there was an underraise for an all in, everyone else could only call and not reraise it under any circumstances.  Is this correct or is there an exception for someone else going all in too?

Last night at the Stanley Casino, during the rebuy period so chipstacks were low and it didnt cause too much of a problem(but it could have if it was later in the tourney), 3 players in the hand, player 1 bets 500 of his 700 at the flop, I go all in for 550.  At this point I assume player 3(who has about 2000)and player 1 can only call the 550.  Player 3 calls the 550 and player 1 goes all in for the extra 50+150.  Player 3 was also pretty certain he couldnt dot hat either but the ruling from the dealer and the TD was that "You can go all in at any time".  Didnt make a fuss over it after that as I was all in anyway and it didnt affect me much and player 3 was calling of course after already putting in 550.

As I said, i accepted the ruling at the time, is that the correct call or was I correct in thinking an underraise cant be re-raised under any circumstances?

as player 3 hasn't yet acted he can reraise
So what about player 1 then?  IS he allowed to go all in for his last 200 after he bet the original 500 or can he only call the 50 or fold?


Title: Re: Underraising
Post by: bhoywonder on June 24, 2006, 08:17:51 PM
he can only call the 50...and then fire the rest in on the next card if he so wishes


so looks like an ill-informed TD and as you say could have been hairy if people are playing on the final table round about the bubble....emotions may be running high