Title: hand questions Post by: Ironside on April 14, 2005, 03:11:44 PM ok here is a hand played last night that some suggested at the time i made the wrong fold
i just want others views we are in the early stages of the freezeout of a 10 rebuy event i had been hitting all night during the rebuy and just took a huge hit after getting drawn out on but my stack is still around 11k the blinds are 300/600 the player 2 to my right (short stack around 3.5k) says raise but has acted out of turn as the player on his right hasn't acted and is therefore can only call i have AQd and want to get HU with the short stack so i raise the pot which is about 700 less than the short stack has, the BB (who was just doubled up thru me when he called my preflop raise with A8 then check raised me on a flop of QJJ when i had KQ and had to call his reraise which was less than my orginal raise and has just as many if not more chips than me) then says raise 700 but obviously he had to match my raise the short stack calls and i pass showing my AQd when some people said i had to call i think i had to fold there as i was expecting the BB to show down a huge hand (reraising a raiserof a guy who intended to raise normally means strenght) also by calling i would have nearly 50% of my stack in the middle and basically means i am committing myself to the post as it happens the short stack had me dominated with AKo but the bb turned over T9o with neither player matching the board was the pass an easy pass as i thought or and easy call as others suggested as expected the short stack the other option would be to reraise all in but i dont think rerereraising with AQ is a +ev play Title: Re: hand questions Post by: ifm on April 14, 2005, 03:24:31 PM A little confusing, not sure how much you passed for.
Did you pass for another 700? Just as a thingy, if someone raises out of turn doesn't the raise stand?? I've seen this many times but maybe it's different up north!! Ian Title: Re: hand questions Post by: Ironside on April 14, 2005, 03:28:36 PM no the bb hads to double my raise so i raised 2100 to 2700 so he raised another 2100
i am not sure on the rule but he was only alowed to called Title: Re: hand questions Post by: ifm on April 14, 2005, 03:44:11 PM Reread it a few times and i got it!!
So you needed to decide if you were gonna call another 2,100 into a pot of 11,900? This would leave you with 6,200. A real tuffy actually, not an automatic call at all. Pot odds ain't great and it leaves you relatively short stacked, chances are he'll put you in postflop and you can't call if you miss. I'd call personally to see the flop, but a pass is probably the best decision. Passing to a reraise annoys the hell out of me (probably why i don't win that much!!) Ian |