Title: is this right? Post by: turny on December 31, 2008, 04:32:14 PM playing at a local casino last night and the following scenario occured....
sitting utg with 45k chips blinds 400/800 make it 2300 to go with AK suited, folds to sb who is fairly loose who reraises to 6k (his stack approx 16k at a glance). the bb then pushes for approx 11k total. i then push my whole stack over the line to try and isolate or to generate a side pot with the sb as the bb obv has a monster as hes a known rock. the sb pushes his stack in as well and tables AJ the bb has AA. the aces hold up and the sb catches a J on the river to scoop the side pot. this is where the fun begins, this table is a self deal table and the dealer then counts the stack of the guy with AA and matches it from the same amount from both the sb and my stacks. The sb is left with 4100 as far as i can see and i match that from my stack and then pull the rest my chips back in front of me. the 2 winners in the pot restack there chips whilst i lick my wounds. the cards are then all mucked and starting to be shuffled ready for the next hands when the TD asks for the next bb so he can move him to another table. being the next bb i get up and carry whats left of my stack over to the next table muttering to myself why i wasn't lucky enough to be moved a hand earlier and save myself 15k odd chips ! lol anyway i sit myself down at my new table , a hand is dealt and i proceed to get reraised after raising with aj and folding to the bb's shove with kk and losing another 2300 chips. then behind me i hear the TD call my name , i turn and he proceeds to tell me that the last pot i had played on the previous table when matching the stacks i was 3875 short. he said the player had counted his stack and it was 3875 short of what it should have been matched at. i disagreed with this and was fairly sure his stack was roughly 16k at the start of the hand so makes the calculations originally right imo. i then asked him to make a ruling on it of what he wants me to do. he said that i had to give him 3875 chips to give to the other player on the other table. how can this be right? i had played a hand on arrival at my new table so assume that my old table had probably played a hand as well. surely the mistake (if there was one) cannot be rectified after the cards have been mucked and the tournament has moved on? thoughts please Title: Re: is this right? Post by: boldie on December 31, 2008, 04:47:00 PM mistake is made and not noticed soon enough...nothing that can be done now.
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: TightEnd on December 31, 2008, 04:48:04 PM mistake is made and not noticed soon enough...nothing that can be done now. I agree, once the next hand is dealt that's it mistake needs to be rectified sooner, if at all Title: Re: is this right? Post by: tikay on December 31, 2008, 04:48:36 PM Too late, the "mistake" cannot be rectified at that stage,.
Nor, sadly, at this stage, nothing to be done, case closed. It was wrong to ask you to make up the alleged shortfall once you'd "moved on" from that hand. Was this a Licensed Venue? Title: Re: is this right? Post by: gatso on December 31, 2008, 04:49:58 PM lol, just lol @ standard of floor staff in some venues
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: TheChipPrince on December 31, 2008, 04:50:17 PM I would refuse to give him the chips, shocking...
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: Rookie (Rodney) on December 31, 2008, 04:51:38 PM LOL. Ridic ruling. pls tell me this wasn't james
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: TightEnd on December 31, 2008, 04:52:11 PM toblerone @ circus luton by any chance?
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: Dingdell on December 31, 2008, 04:55:06 PM [ ] Playing at DTD?
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: turny on December 31, 2008, 05:12:54 PM LOL. Ridic ruling. pls tell me this wasn't james yes it was james and to be honest i was shocked by his decision. i had to accept the decision as i didnt want to cause a scene as it was my first day back from a 3 month ban lol on a plus note the casino put on an excellent buffet and a number of raffle and prizes for winning hands. Title: Re: is this right? Post by: Rookie (Rodney) on December 31, 2008, 05:26:06 PM LOL. Ridic ruling. pls tell me this wasn't james yes it was james and to be honest i was shocked by his decision. i had to accept the decision as i didnt want to cause a scene as it was my first day back from a 3 month ban lol on a plus note the casino put on an excellent buffet and a number of raffle and prizes for winning hands. Am shocked. There is no plus notes if a TD can't get a simple ruling right though!!!!! Title: Re: is this right? Post by: kinboshi on December 31, 2008, 05:27:48 PM [ ] This is why I love self-deal
What would he have done if you'd lost all your chips on the new table - or if you'd doubled up from someone? Would they have got some chips back as well as they'd have lost more than your 'new' stack? Title: Re: is this right? Post by: LeKnave on January 01, 2009, 07:45:43 AM lol such a tez ruling.
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: relaedgc on January 05, 2009, 07:07:27 AM At least he didn't come back and ask for the big blind you missed by moving tables, too.
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: thetank on January 05, 2009, 07:12:23 AM fekkin joke ruling
Title: Re: is this right? Post by: AndrewT on January 05, 2009, 09:17:13 AM [X] TD was obviously annoyed you'd been let in after your ban so was trying to wind you up to get you kicked out again.
Can be the only explanation - how on earth do these people become TDs? Title: Re: is this right? Post by: Cf on January 05, 2009, 10:35:29 AM mistake is made and not noticed soon enough...nothing that can be done now. I agree, once the next hand is dealt that's it mistake needs to be rectified sooner, if at all We aren't told if a new hand had commenced at the original table, and i'm not sure if there's even a rule that covers this scenario. But yeah, given you've already played a different hand elsewhere I disagree with this ruling. Title: Re: is this right? Post by: kinboshi on January 05, 2009, 12:19:50 PM mistake is made and not noticed soon enough...nothing that can be done now. I agree, once the next hand is dealt that's it mistake needs to be rectified sooner, if at all We aren't told if a new hand had commenced at the original table, and i'm not sure if there's even a rule that covers this scenario. But yeah, given you've already played a different hand elsewhere I disagree with this ruling. anyway i sit myself down at my new table , a hand is dealt and i proceed to get reraised after raising with aj and folding to the bb's shove with kk and losing another 2300 chips. Doesn't matter which table the action occurred. It has occurred. The fact he's been moved is an action isn't it? The hand is done, over, history. |