blonde poker forum

Poker Forums => The Rail => Topic started by: Cf on January 20, 2009, 04:02:46 PM



Title: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: Cf on January 20, 2009, 04:02:46 PM
This occured last night in my home game.

I'm heads up, I have about 19k, villian 17k. I shove my SB with  Qs 9s. Villian calls in the BB with  5h 5d. We're now essentially flipping for the tournament.

Flop comes:  Kc Td ..... Ac, but the  Ac is faceup in the deck.

How to proceed?


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: Claw75 on January 20, 2009, 04:10:52 PM
mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: KarmaDope on January 20, 2009, 04:13:44 PM
mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.

+1.

there's no gain to either player so I'd carry on as normal.


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: Girgy85 on January 20, 2009, 04:16:06 PM
mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.

+1.

there's no gain to either player so I'd carry on as normal.

agreed, nobody has seen that card so id play on as normal!

if however it was the burn card then what happens then?


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: ariston on January 20, 2009, 04:22:07 PM
the ace of clubs stands for me. if it was the burn card then it still is the burn card- using the old 3rd card from the bottom wont change anything as its still the burn card. nothing changes and no action can be effected as it was an allin preflop scenario. imo get a dealer who doesnt box the cards. if action was still to take place the a clubs still stands unless its the burn card. in this scenario the ace of clubs must be put back into the deck and the deck reshuffled giving it the chance to still be the burn card. this would also mean the information given by knowing the burn card (Ac) is useless as its still part of the deck.


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: Claw75 on January 20, 2009, 04:22:40 PM
mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.

+1.

there's no gain to either player so I'd carry on as normal.

agreed, nobody has seen that card so id play on as normal!

if however it was the burn card then what happens then?

would just be an exposed burn card imo


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: gatso on January 20, 2009, 04:35:41 PM
the ace of clubs stands for me. if it was the burn card then it still is the burn card- using the old 3rd card from the bottom wont change anything as its still the burn card. nothing changes and no action can be effected as it was an allin preflop scenario. imo get a dealer who doesnt box the cards. if action was still to take place the a clubs still stands unless its the burn card. in this scenario the ace of clubs must be put back into the deck and the deck reshuffled giving it the chance to still be the burn card. this would also mean the information given by knowing the burn card (Ac) is useless as its still part of the deck.

this


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: Cf on January 20, 2009, 06:40:55 PM
This was an interesting situation because this was my game, meaning I'm in charge of making the ruling, yet I'm also one of the players involved in this pot. The ruling I make will essentially decide who wins the tournament (albeit with no way of knowing which way it will go).

To me there were 4 options:

1) Void the hand
2) Let the card stand
3) Pretend it was never there, throw it away, and carry on
4) Shuffle it back into the deck and proceed.

It was an awkward one to call because obviously option 2 is bad for me, option 3 is good, and options 1/4 don't really matter. So obvioulsy I want to make the correct ruling.

So what did I do? I do what I always do and consult Robert's Rules :) (I explicitly state that my home games follow RRs)


7. A card discovered faceup in the deck (boxed card) will be treated as a meaningless scrap of paper. A card being treated as a scrap of paper will be replaced by the next card below it in the deck.


Having decided that this is what we were going to do, I confirmed with the other player that this was the ruling and he was happy with it. He was, so we threw the ace to the side and carried on as if it was never there. The end result was I hit a  Jh on the river to make the straight. Had we let the ace play the 55 would of won. In all it was a very unsatisfying way to win a tournament, but I'm quite confident I acted as fairly as I could given the circumstances.


As an aside, GUKPT rules differ here:

#  A boxed card will remain in the deck (all players will be made aware of the card) until it comes into play at which point rule 12 will be applied. If the card does not come into play no action will be taken.

Prior to completion of the betting a card exposed in error by the dealer will be shuffled back into the remaining live deck, this applies to the first card of the flop, turn and river cards.

Which I believe is option 4 listed above.


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: phatomch on January 20, 2009, 06:50:25 PM
No its not the same as your rule 4


this applies to the first card of the flop, turn and river cards.


its the 3rd card of the flop so has made no difference to the action, so Grosvenor rule would be the same as everyone else has said. The card stands ie rule 2 ( the worst one for you)


Title: Re: Yet Another Ruling Thread
Post by: gatso on January 20, 2009, 06:53:21 PM
looks like your ruling is also correct under tda rules cf, card is disgarded.

thread here about the tda being asked to change it but declining

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/27/brick-mortar/amending-boxed-card-rule-347983/