blonde poker forum

Poker Forums => The Rail => Topic started by: Derbylad on March 04, 2012, 06:15:29 PM



Title: DTD Ruling??
Post by: Derbylad on March 04, 2012, 06:15:29 PM
From the years i've played at DTD i've never experienced any problems until this one....

The villain in question is a reg and should be well aware of the rules.
Hero is dealt KK with a stack size of 320 playing 50/1
Villain who is 4 hands in after moving from a different table is dealt AA.

all in pre flop, the hands play themselves and obviously i brick.

When assuming i'm handing over 200 i'm then told i'm covered and the villain is playing around 400 (2 pink chips among his stack).
I ask for the floor to be called considering the player shouldn't be sat down with anymore then the table max of 200. The ruling isn't overturned and instead of being left with 120 im stacked off.

The argument given to me was that players should be aware of other players stack sizes at all times.
If i'd won the pot i wouldn't be complaining

Counter arguments:
  • the player should only have ever been sat down with the table maximum... between 50-200.
  • Whether id won the pot is irrelevant based on stack sizes as i'm assuming he was only playing 200 anyway
  • the dealer should regulate play and should have made other players aware of a larger stack size if the other table was legitimately broken (which it wasn't).

While i've obviously assumed he's playing 200 and wasn't aware he'd brought more to the table, should the ruling still stand regardless of the strict guidelines in place of table maximums. In my opinion all this has done is  promote to players that you can sit with over the max as long as nobody notices.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: scotty77 on March 04, 2012, 06:35:34 PM
If he moved from another 50/1 table then his stack will be valid.

If he moved from 1/2 then it wouldn't be.

In other rooms this is the case....def in the Vic and Luton G.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: ChristieEllis on March 04, 2012, 06:37:18 PM

IMO...


It is the dealers job to check and make sure the players are not sitting below the min and above the max -  some players are very sneeky and will add more chips if they think the dealer is 'weak,new' and use this to their advantage as they are unlikey to pipe up about it. I doubt this was the case in this instance but the dealers should check stacks when players sit down regardless.
It is also sometimes hard for dealers to regulate stacks as they get moved from table to table , dealers wont always know when a new player has joined the table if they wasnt there when it happend.


I also think that when playing poker it is important for players to note what stacks they are playing among as this is highly important when starting the hand.
Assuming will only get players into trouble.

As the hand has played out , I agree with the ruling that was given because ;

1- Nothing was said to the player when he/she sat down by the players/dealer - he/she was in for four hands prior this and still nobody noticed.
2- Players should really know what they are calling when facing an all in bet

Its very unlucky about the situation and overall ... IMO.. a booboo on both the dealers part and yours.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: cambridgealex on March 04, 2012, 06:53:59 PM

IMO...


It is the dealers job to check and make sure the players are not sitting below the min and above the max -  some players are very sneeky and will add more chips if they think the dealer is 'weak,new' and use this to their advantage as they are unlikey to pipe up about it. I doubt this was the case in this instance but the dealers should check stacks when players sit down regardless.
It is also sometimes hard for dealers to regulate stacks as they get moved from table to table , dealers wont always know when a new player has joined the table if they wasnt there when it happend.


I also think that when playing poker it is important for players to note what stacks they are playing among as this is highly important when starting the hand.
Assuming will only get players into trouble.

As the hand has played out , I agree with the ruling that was given because ;

1- Nothing was said to the player when he/she sat down by the players/dealer - he/she was in for four hands prior this and still nobody noticed.
2- Players should really know what they are calling when facing an all in bet

Its very unlucky about the situation and overall ... IMO.. a booboo on both the dealers part and yours.


Christies summed it up perfect.

Name and shame the reg Gary?


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: Derbylad on March 04, 2012, 07:00:00 PM
Agree with what your saying from a dealers perspective, it was more the having faith in the guidelines that are already in place, 99.9% of the time the player would have been told 200 max. Not sure on his name mate, seen him there plenty though, he did apologize to me after i spoke to the desk but it doesn't really mean much.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: polaroid83 on March 04, 2012, 07:02:03 PM
As far as I'm aware if a player moves from a50/1 table to another he is allowed to bring all of his chips over. I'm surprised they sat there for 4 hands and nobody asked how much they were playing. Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: Derbylad on March 04, 2012, 07:05:45 PM
Quote
As far as I'm aware if a player moves from a50/1 table to another he is allowed to bring all of his chips over. I'm surprised they sat there for 4 hands and nobody asked how much they were playing. Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.

The ruling at DTD as far as i'm aware....
is that a player is able to bring a full stack size over, i.e. one that is over the table maximum of 200 if the table is legitimately broken by the house e.g. if it goes down to 2 handed etc...
The table in question wasn't legitimately broken so i was under the assumption the player would only be playing 200 hence the assumption on stack size


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: gatso on March 04, 2012, 07:07:58 PM
Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.

really? you're sat with AA and you're asking how much an allin is before calling? doubt it


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: AndrewT on March 04, 2012, 07:12:11 PM
Quote
As far as I'm aware if a player moves from a50/1 table to another he is allowed to bring all of his chips over. I'm surprised they sat there for 4 hands and nobody asked how much they were playing. Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.

The ruling at DTD as far as i'm aware....
is that a player is able to bring a full stack size over, i.e. one that is over the table maximum of 200 if the table is legitimately broken by the house e.g. if it goes down to 2 handed etc...
The table in question wasn't legitimately broken so i was under the assumption the player would only be playing 200 hence the assumption on stack size

Does this mean that at DTD, if I've run my £200 up to £1000, but fancy taking my profits but continue to play, I can just ask for a table change, stick £800 in my pocket and carry on playing?

That can't be right.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: polaroid83 on March 04, 2012, 07:12:51 PM
Obv if you have aa the amount doesn't mater just ment in general players normally ask how much is it. If they are holding something other than aces


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: Derbylad on March 04, 2012, 07:17:46 PM
Quote
Does this mean that at DTD, if I've run my £200 up to £1000, but fancy taking my profits but continue to play, I can just ask for a table change, stick £800 in my pocket and carry on playing?

That can't be right.

This is the same scenario as online


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: giveyourcash on March 04, 2012, 07:18:39 PM
Quote
As far as I'm aware if a player moves from a50/1 table to another he is allowed to bring all of his chips over. I'm surprised they sat there for 4 hands and nobody asked how much they were playing. Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.

The ruling at DTD as far as i'm aware....
is that a player is able to bring a full stack size over, i.e. one that is over the table maximum of 200 if the table is legitimately broken by the house e.g. if it goes down to 2 handed etc...
The table in question wasn't legitimately broken so i was under the assumption the player would only be playing 200 hence the assumption on stack size

Does this mean that at DTD, if I've run my £200 up to £1000, but fancy taking my profits but continue to play, I can just ask for a table change, stick £800 in my pocket and carry on playing?

That can't be right.

And yet it is.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: cambridgealex on March 04, 2012, 07:29:01 PM
Yeh that is 100% the ruling


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: redsimon on March 04, 2012, 07:29:20 PM
Quote
As far as I'm aware if a player moves from a50/1 table to another he is allowed to bring all of his chips over. I'm surprised they sat there for 4 hands and nobody asked how much they were playing. Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.

The ruling at DTD as far as i'm aware....
is that a player is able to bring a full stack size over, i.e. one that is over the table maximum of 200 if the table is legitimately broken by the house e.g. if it goes down to 2 handed etc...
The table in question wasn't legitimately broken so i was under the assumption the player would only be playing 200 hence the assumption on stack size

Does this mean that at DTD, if I've run my £200 up to £1000, but fancy taking my profits but continue to play, I can just ask for a table change, stick £800 in my pocket and carry on playing?

That can't be right.

And yet it is.

Yeah I ran 200 up to 500 (thin brag yeah) a few weeks ago and moved to what I thought was better table after some good regs joined mine. Was a bit flummoxed when dealer said I had to weed 300 off into my pocket!


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: redsimon on March 04, 2012, 07:32:10 PM
and Id rather have kept my 500 stack tbh :)


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: Karabiner on March 04, 2012, 07:55:45 PM
and Id rather have kept my 500 stack tbh :)

GIQ ffs ;)


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: redsimon on March 04, 2012, 08:29:42 PM
and Id rather have kept my 500 stack tbh :)

GIQ ffs ;)

so rare gotta shout about it :)


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: ChristieEllis on March 04, 2012, 11:55:42 PM
I guess it's pretty annoying for you at this moment in time but going forward if you want a rough idea of how much a player is playing when he/she sits down just ask the player or dealer it's never a problem then if any doubts then it can be sorted as soon as possible .

What do you think the correct ruling should have been and what do you think would have made the situation better?


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: Derbylad on March 05, 2012, 12:02:13 AM
99% of the time i'm the one that pisses you off by telling you its 200 maximum its just the rare occurrence i hadn't noticed.
I don't mind losing the hand, it plays itself but i shouldn't have been stacked off.

IMO... The player should have only had the table maximum of 200 so should only legitimately be able to win 200 of an opponents stack as he hadn't gained a greater stack through play at the table. I don't see how as a player you could justify against that as your still winning £200.

Really disappointing on DTD's behalf.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: jgcblack on March 05, 2012, 12:42:23 AM
Quote
As far as I'm aware if a player moves from a50/1 table to another he is allowed to bring all of his chips over. I'm surprised they sat there for 4 hands and nobody asked how much they were playing. Also I would of asked for a total amount of the all in bet rather than assume it's a certain amount. An unfortunate incident IMO.

The ruling at DTD as far as i'm aware....
is that a player is able to bring a full stack size over, i.e. one that is over the table maximum of 200 if the table is legitimately broken by the house e.g. if it goes down to 2 handed etc...
The table in question wasn't legitimately broken so i was under the assumption the player would only be playing 200 hence the assumption on stack size

Does this mean that at DTD, if I've run my £200 up to £1000, but fancy taking my profits but continue to play, I can just ask for a table change, stick £800 in my pocket and carry on playing?

That can't be right.

And yet it is.

Yeah I ran 200 up to 500 (thin brag yeah) a few weeks ago and moved to what I thought was better table after some good regs joined mine. Was a bit flummoxed when dealer said I had to weed 300 off into my pocket!

Yeah its a pretty sick rule when you consider no other card room allows this.  I understand why DTD do it, but I've also told Danny and Tom (cash managers) that if I feel the need or the games are good, I will do this regularly.  I was told this would be frowned upon by someone of my reg/ rules understanding status.  This winds me up as any rule can be 'used' if you can find the angle and tbh the skill of spotting advantages in all aspects of life and in poker its +ev decisions or ways to 'lock up' profits given the chance is one I shouldn't be penalised for.

Best ask Alex as he's the only reg I know to leave the £1/2 and lock up profits to sit on the 50/£1 with £65 for 'fun'.....


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: zerofive on March 05, 2012, 01:03:48 AM
Name and shame the reg Gary?

100% wasn't Ben Mortlock


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: jakally on March 05, 2012, 02:35:31 AM

Best ask Alex as he's the only reg I know to leave the £1/2 and lock up profits to sit on the 50/£1 with £65 for 'fun'.....

Bit unfair....pretty sure this was before he was a winning player.
..........December IIRC.


Title: Re: DTD Ruling??
Post by: ScottMGee on March 05, 2012, 07:54:16 AM
Not sure why everyone is hating the max buy in on table change rule.

I understand the non-weeding rule was to allow the other players a chance to win their money back. However, if you move tables they loose this chance anyone hence the max buy in rules makes no difference to them unless they follow you round the room.