blonde poker forum

Poker Forums => The Rail => Topic started by: david3103 on June 27, 2012, 12:49:19 PM



Title: Ruling from Event 47
Post by: david3103 on June 27, 2012, 12:49:19 PM
Can this be right?

Another man who had a little bit of luck was Lee Watkinson, who was at one point on the verge of elimination. You see, he was short stacked with about 1,500 and got involved in a three-way pot. Watkinson and Rob Whittenburge were both all in with the former having the latter covered. An unknown player was also in the hand and had both covered by a large margin.

Showdown
Watkinson   {A-Hearts}{A-Clubs}{K-Diamonds}{9-Spades}
Unknown   {A-Spades}{A-Diamonds}{K-Spades}{4-Diamonds}
Whittenburge   {Q-Diamonds}{Q-Clubs}{10-Diamonds}{9-Clubs}

The board ran {4-Hearts} {Q-Spades} {10-Hearts} {4-Clubs} {J-Hearts} and Whittenburge took the main pot with his full house, while the dealer shipped the side pot to the unknown player. Watkinson, who thought he had busted, left the tournament area but then returned several moments later when it hit him that he should have chopped the side pot since both players had made a Broadway straight. A floorman was summoned, Watkinson received his half of the side pot (900) and was back in the tournament. By the end of the night, he had run that stack up to 22,000.


Read more: http://www.pokernews.com/live-reporting/2012-world-series-of-poker/event-47-pot-limit-omaha-hi-low-split-8-or-better/


Title: Re: Ruling from Event 47
Post by: doubleup on June 27, 2012, 01:31:19 PM

seems a bit odd - if the next hand was being dealt would have thought they would have told him to gfy.


Title: Re: Ruling from Event 47
Post by: dik9 on June 27, 2012, 02:58:02 PM
Bad decision imo, once the next hand is entered into, there is no case. Although it was "reported" who knows exactly what the cards were? How long was he away from the table? What if he was due to be next bb? loads of different questions and scenarios could be raised here if it wasn't dealt with immediately. If he notified before the start of the next hand then ruling is good.


Title: Re: Ruling from Event 47
Post by: Cf on June 28, 2012, 03:29:52 AM
Well, the story doesn't make it clear if the next hand had started?


Title: Re: Ruling from Event 47
Post by: smashedagain on June 28, 2012, 07:41:28 AM
Went out in the 20's for over 8k