blonde poker forum

Poker Forums => The Rail => Topic started by: teamonkey on May 18, 2013, 10:14:19 AM



Title: cash game ruling question
Post by: teamonkey on May 18, 2013, 10:14:19 AM
Wife went to theatre last night in sheffield so I went to the grosvenor for a little cash and the following happened;

9 handed 1 1 nlhe

Utg limps,  mp makes it 4, fold fold etc to bb who reraises to 17 , utg then goes all in for 15, back to mp who announces reraise and thinks about the amount.

The dealer then states that he cannot reraise but can only call or go all in due to utg making an under raise to the bb's action.

Ignoring lol stack sizes (and I'm on my phone so typos too) is this a correct ruling in a cash game?

To me the under raise shouldnt matter as the bb still had a stack to play and the mp had plenty of chips back too. But the dealer was very insistant and a couple of players agreed with him so it stood.

Thoughts?

Mick


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: stato_1 on May 18, 2013, 10:22:38 AM
No, this is not the correct ruling. The raise facing MP is 4 -> 17, clearly not an under-raise.


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: celtic on May 18, 2013, 11:00:52 AM
No, this is not the correct ruling. The raise facing MP is 4 -> 17, clearly not an under-raise.


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: david3103 on May 18, 2013, 12:03:39 PM
utg has called (nearly) so all options are open


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: tikay on May 18, 2013, 12:08:23 PM
utg has called (nearly) so all options are open

David, get your arse over to Fred, a lovely photo question awaits you there.


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: EvilPie on May 18, 2013, 12:44:06 PM
Wife went to theatre last night in sheffield so I went to the grosvenor for a little cash and the following happened;

9 handed 1 1 nlhe

Utg limps,  mp makes it 4, fold fold etc to bb who reraises to 17 , utg then goes all in for 15, back to mp who announces reraise and thinks about the amount.

The dealer then states that he cannot reraise but can only call or go all in due to utg making an under raise to the bb's action.

Ignoring lol stack sizes (and I'm on my phone so typos too) is this a correct ruling in a cash game?

To me the under raise shouldnt matter as the bb still had a stack to play and the mp had plenty of chips back too. But the dealer was very insistant and a couple of players agreed with him so it stood.

Thoughts?

Mick

Not realising it's a call instead of an under raise is bad.

Allowing the guy to go all in over what he thinks is an under raise is even worse.



Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: teamonkey on May 18, 2013, 01:25:46 PM
plenty putting into words what i thought at the time, but as a very rare cash game player, and having never been there before AND not actually being in the hand i kept schtum

anyway, thanks for the input, i'll get back to my life again now

Mick


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: relaedgc on May 18, 2013, 02:13:08 PM
SB: £1
BB: £1
UTG: £1
.
.
MP: £4 (+3)
.
.
BB: £17 (+13)
UTG £15 (All-in)

As MP was legitimately raised by a legal amount by the BB, the fact that UTG has moved All In is irrelevant. He has his full options.


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: I KNOW IT on May 19, 2013, 03:53:47 AM
Why is it whenever I see a ruling thread and see Grosvenor in the opening post I seem to cringe   :dontask:


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: teamonkey on May 19, 2013, 12:00:55 PM
Just to mix it up a little what should have happened if it went;

Utg limp

Mp raise to 4

Bb reraise to 15

Utg all in for 17  (now its an under raise)

Options for mp?   Can he now reraise or is it only call or all in?



Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: I KNOW IT on May 19, 2013, 01:10:48 PM
Just to mix it up a little what should have happened if it went;

Utg limp

Mp raise to 4

Bb reraise to 15

Utg all in for 17  (now its an under raise)

Options for mp?   Can he now reraise or is it only call or all in?



All options open to MP


Title: Re: cash game ruling question
Post by: dakky on May 19, 2013, 07:03:18 PM
Just to mix it up a little what should have happened if it went;

Utg limp

Mp raise to 4

Bb reraise to 15

Utg all in for 17  (now its an under raise)

Options for mp?   Can he now reraise or is it only call or all in?



All options open to MP

Yes this; the only thing the "under raise" changes is if MP calls then BB can only call or fold. Full action is open to MP as all he has done is open to 4; a re-raise to 15 (now 17) has totally reopened all action to him