Title: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: superwomble on November 17, 2014, 09:29:42 PM I overheard a ruling made in a tournament I was playing in the other day which I've not heard before. Pre-flop (I think, it was another table, but I assume it makes no difference) a player raised, 2 players called, then the next player tried to re-raise. The TD said he couldn't because once 2 or more players have called a raise no-one can then re-raise.
Is this true? I don't think it is but I can't find anywhere online that proves or disproves it. If it's not true could someone post a link to show that please? Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: PathFinder on November 17, 2014, 10:24:52 PM (http://cdn.meme.am/instances/250x250/56294258.jpg)
Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: Tal on November 17, 2014, 10:25:18 PM We're missing a detail here somewhere, as that can't be right.
Player A raises Player B calls Player C calls Player D tries to re-raise but is told he can't Unless Player A and Player D are the same person, D is allowed to raise. Did it myself once. [ ] ended well. Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: david3103 on November 17, 2014, 11:27:09 PM Either, player D limped in initially and then player A raised all in and that was an under raise.
Or this was a pub game Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: superwomble on November 18, 2014, 10:04:31 AM So far we have one answer saying TD was correct, one saying he wasn't, and one I think is saying he wasn't...!
So can anyone post a link proving either side correct? Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: tikay on November 18, 2014, 10:08:54 AM So far we have one answer saying TD was correct, one saying he wasn't, and one I think is saying he wasn't...! So can anyone post a link proving either side correct? You need to be more precise as to the information. Did one of the raisers raise all-in? That's key. If they did not, & assuming you did not mis-hear or misunderstand, the ruling was wrong. I can't imagine ANY TD getting this one wrong, unless someone was all-in, so I suspect some info is missing. Where did this take place? Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: superwomble on November 18, 2014, 10:50:35 AM Cheers tikay. I don't think anyone was all in but it was another table so can't be certain on that I'm afraid.
So if the first player had gone all in, then the next 2 players called, the next player cannot raise? I didn't know that. If that is the case then I must have missed the first raiser actually being all in, or the TD was wrong. It took place during my local Redtooth Poker league game. Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: TightEnd on November 18, 2014, 10:53:02 AM Womble
who TD's these league games? Redtooth (or other branded pub league) provides a TD? or the publican does it? or there is an organiser? which set of rules deo they use and are they available for players to see? Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: tikay on November 18, 2014, 10:54:02 AM Cheers tikay. I don't think anyone was all in but it was another table so can't be certain on that I'm afraid. So if the first player had gone all in, then the next 2 players called, the next player cannot raise? I didn't know that. If that is the case then I must have missed the first raiser actually being all in, or the TD was wrong. It took place during my local Redtooth Poker league game. It depends if there was an Under-Raise. Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: superwomble on November 18, 2014, 11:04:47 AM Tighty, the TD is the head chef. As far as I've seen he knows his stuff though. The rules are on the Redtooth site at www.redtoothcreativesolutions.com/downloads/Poker_Rules_1.4.pdf
Tikay, can you explain the under raise bit please? You can under raise without going all in? Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: tikay on November 18, 2014, 11:16:34 AM Tighty, the TD is the head chef. As far as I've seen he knows his stuff though. The rules are on the Redtooth site at www.redtoothcreativesolutions.com/downloads/Poker_Rules_1.4.pdf Tikay, can you explain the under raise bit please? You can under raise without going all in? No, but if you do not have enough for the full minimum raise, & you go all-in, that is an under-raise. Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: superwomble on November 18, 2014, 11:22:32 AM Of course, have re-read what you said now. So if the first raiser had gone all-in, but with an under raise, then after the 2 calls the next player could not raise, but had the all-in been a proper raise he could?
Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: Pinchop73 on November 18, 2014, 11:30:20 AM chef likes to see a flop
Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: tikay on November 18, 2014, 11:35:52 AM Of course, have re-read what you said now. So if the first raiser had gone all-in, but with an under raise, then after the 2 calls the next player could not raise, but had the all-in been a proper raise he could? Have a butchers at this, though you'll probably end up even more confused! http://www.pokernetwork.com/forums/main-noticeboard/22657-poker-ruling-can-you-re-raise-under-raised-all.html Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: superwomble on November 18, 2014, 11:50:54 AM Not at all, I think that's got it covered tikay!
In the context of my original post I assume I must have missed an under raise all in. However, I'm pretty sure the TD specified that the reason no raise was allowed is that 2 players had called, and this statement was wrong in any of the scenarios mentioned. I'll remember this for if it ever happens again - thanks all. Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: cambridgealex on November 18, 2014, 02:49:22 PM Any player that has yet to act in a pot has all options open to them regardless of action before under raises or not.
Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: AndrewT on November 18, 2014, 05:08:56 PM If the TD is the head chef then the correct course of action is to call the floor then order some food.
Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: Rexas on November 19, 2014, 03:52:43 AM If the TD is the head chef then the correct course of action is to call the floor then order some food. Specifically one of these bad boys (http://i4.birminghammail.co.uk/incoming/article8085578.ece/alternates/s615/JS50569953.jpg) Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: celtic on November 19, 2014, 04:51:35 AM I'm actually crying. Wp pinchop.
I hope the chef handles the pots in the kitchen, better than he does in the poker. Title: Re: Raising, calling, re-raising ruling question Post by: JK on November 23, 2014, 09:54:07 AM Any player that has yet to act in a pot has all options open to them regardless of action before under raises or not. I think this is the missing piece in this discussion. Think its been solved now, so wont go into paragraphs about the different rules that could have been correct/incorrect (this makes me sad :() |