blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 12:05:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2272619 Posts in 66756 Topics by 16946 Members
Latest Member: KobeTaylor
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Poker Forums
| |-+  Poker Hand Analysis
| | |-+  How to Play TPTK Hands in NL Cash ?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How to Play TPTK Hands in NL Cash ?  (Read 2015 times)
Raindogs

View Profile
« on: August 03, 2006, 06:58:18 PM »

I recently started playing $100 NL cash games having played Limit (5/10) up to now.  The following hand higlighted an issue for me regarding calling large raises with a top pair/top kicker hand.

I have $88 in seat 7 and hold  .
UTG (seat 2) raises to $4.
Loose aggressive player (65% VP$IP, 10% raise PF, 3.5 AF) calls in seat 5, seat 6 calls, SB calls BB completes.

Flop is      .  Pot is $24.

All check to me and I lead out for $15.  Folds around to the LAG player in seat 7 who calls.  Now heads up.

Turn  .  Pot is $54.

LAG checks.  I bet $30.  LAG moves all in.  It is going to cost me $39 to win a $123 pot.

Given the preflop raise it is hard to put a single 4 in my opponents hand.  He could have called with 44 or 33 in which case I am toast but why go all in on the turn if he has me on a single pair ?  I can't believe he would flat call with QQ - AA with 6 players yet to act.  AQ, KQ, & QJ are also possibilities.  If he had a Q and the flush draw that would explain the all in but I would have expected him move in before I committed any more chips, which could pot commit me.