Title: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dingdell on November 27, 2006, 12:15:38 PM Ok - Walsall £100 rebuy last night - in freezout period.
Dealers obviously really nackered after a punishing week. 3 people in the hand. Flop seen and checked by 2, third says raise, but as he does so the dealer has already burnt a card and is about to show the turn. The guy who wants to raise hasn't seen the card but the next to act has. What should happen here? Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: TightEnd on November 27, 2006, 12:27:24 PM burn card stands, exposed card gets shuffled back in to have an equal chance of coming out, redeal the turn when betting complete
However exact same thing happened earlier in week and ruling was they took third card from bottom as turn card,. which I thought was incorrect ruling but accepted it nonetheless. Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dingdell on November 27, 2006, 12:33:15 PM The ruling this time was that the card stood as did the raise.
Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: bolt pp on November 27, 2006, 12:34:51 PM The ruling this time was that the card stood as did the raise. Thats what i'd want to happen, its the most simplistic ruling and as bad as it seems i'd rather have a consistent rule thoughout the industry for these types of situations as opposed to every different gaff coming up with a different idea about how to rule. Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: AndrewT on November 27, 2006, 12:35:37 PM The ruling this time was that the card stood as did the raise. Was the raiser allowed to find out what the exposed card was before he decided how much he had to bet? Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: TightEnd on November 27, 2006, 12:38:45 PM How can the card stand if the person facing the raise knows what the turn card is when he is responding to the raise on the flop?
Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dingdell on November 27, 2006, 12:41:00 PM The ruling this time was that the card stood as did the raise. Was the raiser allowed to find out what the exposed card was before he decided how much he had to bet? Yes Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dingdell on November 27, 2006, 01:12:16 PM ok - it went like this......
Flop 4c 6h 8d - two checks then raiser went to speak and as he did the 2s was dealt. Ruling was that the 2 stood. The raiser raised all in, called by 1, the other folded. The hands were - a flopped straight from the raiser, trip 2's for the caller who then protested that the 2 shouldn't have stood - although when he first saw it he wanted it to stand. So he was V unhappy and the raiser (dingdells bern) was v happy. Until the river came as a 2. It was a very interesting drive home! Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: matt674 on November 27, 2006, 01:21:11 PM ok - it went like this...... Flop 4c 6h 8d - two checks then raiser went to speak and as he did the 2s was dealt. Ruling was that the 2 stood. The raiser raised all in, called by 1, the other folded. The hands were - a flopped straight from the raiser, trip 2's for the caller who then protested that the 2 shouldn't have stood - although when he first saw it he wanted it to stand. So he was V unhappy and the raiser (dingdells bern) was v happy. Until the river came as a 2. It was a very interesting drive home! Live poker is sooooooo RIGGED!!! Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: londonpokergirl on November 27, 2006, 01:27:07 PM actually its slightly different!
The burn card is correct that stays as it is. The card which was brought out gets the chance to be shuffled back into the deck. However what you do, is let betting commence exactly as what should have happened. Let players call etc, then do a burn card and get the river card out(in place of the turn) , let betting commence and calling, then reshuffle the cards with the turn card don't burn a card as its already happened and the 1st card out is the new turn card but a river card Hope that makes sense, its much easier to do than explain it! Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: ariston on November 27, 2006, 01:28:30 PM never happens on the internet that.
ruling was incorrect and the 2 shouldn't have gone. It should have been shuffled back into the pack as tighty says but unfortunately Grosvenor uses the 3rd card from the bottom rule which means the 2 then becomes a dead card completely. Very stupid ruling that it stood and he got to see it before he announced his raise. Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: doubleup on November 27, 2006, 01:38:47 PM This year I have played 17 ranking tournaments in 8 different countries. I only played 1 tournament in England because I was getting a freeroll. With rulings like this I don't really see any reason to change this behaviour.
Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: TightEnd on November 27, 2006, 02:38:57 PM never happens on the internet that. ruling was incorrect and the 2 shouldn't have gone. It should have been shuffled back into the pack as tighty says but unfortunately Grosvenor uses the 3rd card from the bottom rule which means the 2 then becomes a dead card completely. Very stupid ruling that it stood and he got to see it before he announced his raise. I AGREE WITH EVERY WORD OF THIS. I am off for an urgent lie down. Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: TightEnd on November 27, 2006, 02:44:18 PM actually its slightly different! The burn card is correct that stays as it is. The card which was brought out gets the chance to be shuffled back into the deck. However what you do, is let betting commence exactly as what should have happened. Let players call etc, then do a burn card and get the river card out(in place of the turn) , let betting commence and calling, then reshuffle the cards with the turn card don't burn a card as its already happened and the 1st card out is the new turn card but a river card Hope that makes sense, its much easier to do than explain it! this seems far too complicated I like what I saw applied somewhere the other week, burn card stands, raiser allowed to bet, callers allowed to act, deck get shuffled, proceed with turn, burn, river Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: RioRodent on November 27, 2006, 03:26:44 PM actually its slightly different! The burn card is correct that stays as it is. The card which was brought out gets the chance to be shuffled back into the deck. However what you do, is let betting commence exactly as what should have happened. Let players call etc, then do a burn card and get the river card out(in place of the turn) , let betting commence and calling, then reshuffle the cards with the turn card don't burn a card as its already happened and the 1st card out is the new turn card but a river card Hope that makes sense, its much easier to do than explain it! this seems far too complicated I like what I saw applied somewhere the other week, burn card stands, raiser allowed to bet, callers allowed to act, deck get shuffled, proceed with turn, burn, river As Mel says it is harder to put into words than to do... the reason for doing it the way Mel describes is so that 'as far as possible' the board cards are as they should be, albeit the original river card comes early on the turn, and the exposed card still has a chance of hitting the board after being shuffled back in. Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: vinni on November 27, 2006, 08:12:01 PM the same thing happened to me in blackpool a couple of years ago ,the first card out was a six ,which would have given me trips ,but there was still one more to act ,so that card now became dead ,so i was hitting a one outer .
i was all in before the flop ,yhis was also the mane event Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: rudders on November 27, 2006, 09:50:08 PM i remember this hand- it happened just behind me- you had just reraised kk allin- the dealer started to deal the flop before you were called... everyone on the table agreed that you well and truly hard done by... sad thing is it still goes on..... as usual we have no conformity in our game
Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: vinni on November 27, 2006, 10:15:27 PM it will never happen ,but i hope they have a ruling through out europe ,which all clubs have to abide by .
this would be great as it would put everyone in the same boat ,its different for every casino . a few weeks ago at wallsall one man raised ,i ask him how many chips he has left ,he shows me 3 chips totaling 2100 ,on the turn card he moves all in i call ,and turn my cards over he asks for a ruling ,he hid a chip . what i am saying is some casinos would have given him the ruling ,i saw this happen to rob young at sheffield ,where it was given to the other player because rob thought he was all in and exposed his cards . its about time something was done on these sort of situations . Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: shortstack_itb on November 28, 2006, 12:13:14 AM When I make this cock up the burn card stands the exposed card goes to one side, i deal a burn for the river and the river card face down to keep the game as accurate as possible, i'll then take the exposed card and shuffle it back into the deck for a few minutes to give it a completley random chance of coming back out then deal it face down till betting is complete on that round of betting!
Chris Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: vinni on November 28, 2006, 01:01:06 AM no disrespect shortstack but every card room should have the same ruling.
Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dani Versace on November 28, 2006, 01:07:27 AM ???????????
OK was the turn card was see by anyone on the table, If it was, the Grosvenor rule stats, Any card turn in error is to be replaced by the third one from the bottom, or in 6 card O, the second one. Personally i think the card should be shuffled back into the deck and have a equal chance of coming out! Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: TightEnd on November 28, 2006, 01:10:55 AM Personally i think the card should be shuffled back into the deck and have a equal chance of coming out! why don't Grosvenors do this Dani? Is there a rules committee it can be brought in front of to change the existing rule or is it on a club by blub basis? Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dani Versace on November 28, 2006, 01:31:23 AM There is a rules committee but the less said about that the better, or ill get myself in trouble.
Next subject PLEASE!!!! 8) Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: TightEnd on November 28, 2006, 01:34:51 AM There is a rules committee but the less said about that the better, or ill get myself in trouble. Next subject PLEASE!!!! 8) cluck, cluck, cluck, cluck...scatters seed....cluck, cluck, cluck Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: mex on November 28, 2006, 06:24:25 PM they should move the short stack
Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: Dingdell on November 28, 2006, 06:36:39 PM ??????????? OK was the turn card was see by anyone on the table, If it was, the Grosvenor rule stats, Any card turn in error is to be replaced by the third one from the bottom, or in 6 card O, the second one. Personally i think the card should be shuffled back into the deck and have a equal chance of coming out! Great rule - shame when we asked for a ruling this wasn't the answer given. :( Title: Re: Correct ruling here? Post by: dik9 on November 28, 2006, 07:31:33 PM actually its slightly different! The burn card is correct that stays as it is. The card which was brought out gets the chance to be shuffled back into the deck. However what you do, is let betting commence exactly as what should have happened. Let players call etc, then do a burn card and get the river card out(in place of the turn) , let betting commence and calling, then reshuffle the cards with the turn card don't burn a card as its already happened and the 1st card out is the new turn card but a river card Hope that makes sense, its much easier to do than explain it! :)up |