blonde poker forum

Poker Forums => The Rail => Topic started by: outragous76 on May 14, 2011, 04:59:27 AM



Title: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: outragous76 on May 14, 2011, 04:59:27 AM
50/1 cash game

Utg limps using a £1 chip,  3 more limpers, SB makes it £10.

Gets back to utg who without saying anything throws in a further £25 chip.

What has he done

Called?

Raised?



Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Rupert on May 14, 2011, 05:02:34 AM
called


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: NigDawG on May 14, 2011, 05:12:25 AM
1 oversized chip without saying anything....don't really see how this can be disputed


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Rupert on May 14, 2011, 05:17:09 AM
so thats a call right?


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: outragous76 on May 14, 2011, 05:40:48 AM
1 oversized chip without saying anything....don't really see how this can be disputed

He is adding to his £1 chip already in the middle


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Rupert on May 14, 2011, 05:51:36 AM
thats in the pot isnt it?


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Woodsey on May 14, 2011, 06:03:59 AM
thats in the pot isnt it?

The dealer won't draw it in until the round of betting has finished, it hasn't yet.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: bhoywonder on May 14, 2011, 07:26:30 AM
In polite circles,the dealer could ask what his intention was....but a call of ten pounds would be a sensible decision....certainly u could rule out raise,and rule out a call to 2 pounds.....but if rules were adhered to....he has effectively put ten in the pot...no?


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Ironside on May 14, 2011, 07:59:38 AM
Call no dispute


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: leethefish on May 14, 2011, 08:13:53 AM
Call no dispute
+1 nothing to argue


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: NigDawG on May 14, 2011, 08:45:03 AM
1 oversized chip without saying anything....don't really see how this can be disputed

He is adding to his £1 chip already in the middle

that chip is already in the middle and has no relevance now.

if it folds to u in the sb @ 100/200 and u throw in a single 500 chip without saying anything, have u called or raised?


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Cf on May 14, 2011, 10:24:17 AM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Karabiner on May 14, 2011, 11:52:51 AM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.

I disagree with this.

I would say that if he had replaced the £1 chip with the £25 chip it would be a clear(ish) call whereas adding the £25 to the £1 chip could be interpreted as a raise.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: outragous76 on May 14, 2011, 11:56:23 AM
I genuinely thought that the oversized chip thing was if there was nothing in the pot

Didn't realise that flicking in a second chip was considered to be a single oversized chip


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: kinboshi on May 14, 2011, 12:05:38 PM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.
 

Pretty much this for me. The dealer should announce the action immediately as well if there's any confusion.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Claw75 on May 14, 2011, 12:05:45 PM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.

I disagree with this.

I would say that if he had replaced the £1 chip with the £25 chip it would be a clear(ish) call whereas adding the £25 to the £1 chip could be interpreted as a raise.

agree


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Claw75 on May 14, 2011, 12:09:50 PM
bit of a hijack, and sure it's been covered before, but came up last night.  checking the nuts last to act on the river?  i queried with the dealer whether it was allowed and was told that it was ok, but if it happened again then it would be deemed collusion.  Hmm - not sure how likely it is that same two players would be in a pot with one sitting in position with the nuts again.  I didn't call for a ruling as no one else seemed bothered, and it wasn't until afterwards when they were both chatting to a guy that had busted that came over that it even occurred to me they might know each other - thought the guy was just inexperienced.



Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: AndrewT on May 14, 2011, 12:27:43 PM
if it folds to u in the sb @ 100/200 and u throw in a single 500 chip without saying anything, have u called or raised?

This goes as a call, therefore situation in OP is a call.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Cf on May 14, 2011, 01:29:54 PM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.

I disagree with this.

I would say that if he had replaced the £1 chip with the £25 chip it would be a clear(ish) call whereas adding the £25 to the £1 chip could be interpreted as a raise.

agree

I said placed with, not replaced.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: doubleup on May 14, 2011, 01:54:34 PM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.

Don't agree, I think that as a general principle an unclear action should be interpreted as the least aggresive option. 


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: Cf on May 14, 2011, 03:04:12 PM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.

Don't agree, I think that as a general principle an unclear action should be interpreted as the least aggresive option. 

How does what you said not agree with me? My post says unless something is done to make clear his intention to raise it's taken as a call.


Title: Re: Yawnnnnn it's a ruling thread!
Post by: JK on May 14, 2011, 03:06:51 PM
If he makes some sort of point of picking up the £1 chip and placing it with the £25 chip then it's a raise. Or if he taps the £1 chip with the £25 chip and leaves it in or something then it can be taken as a raise.

But in general it's just going to be a call.

Pretty much this for me too. This is how Id call it 100% of the time.

People leave the chips they have in the pot in there all the time in this situation because either a) theyre too lazy to reach and get it or b) they forget its in there. Are you going to make every single person that does that raise?