poker news
blondepedia
card room
tournament schedule
uk results
galleries
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
June 22, 2025, 02:31:19 AM
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Search:
Advanced search
Order through Amazon and help blonde Poker
2261805
Posts in
66596
Topics by
16984
Members
Latest Member:
thomas_1
blonde poker forum
Poker Forums
The Rail
An interesting ruling
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
« previous
next »
Pages:
[
1
]
2
Author
Topic: An interesting ruling (Read 2490 times)
TightEnd
Administrator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: I am a geek!!
An interesting ruling
«
on:
March 03, 2008, 03:39:27 PM »
UTG raises to 6,000
Mid Position pushes for 37,000 and change
back to UTG he calls
Pusher wins the hand
its 31,900 precisely more to the UTG
Dealer says "39,100 to you" and the UTG hands over 40,000 receiving 900 change
Two hands later UTG pipes up
"Hold on it was 31,900 not 39,100. Dealer you've made a mistake"
the Pusher checks his chips and yes indeed his chip stack is 7,200 over the amount of his double up plus blinds and antes
Both parties agree that a mistake has been made
The floor is called
the ruling is as follows
a) errors have to be rectified prior to the end of the hand. The UTG player should have spoken up then. So two hands later it is far too late to adjust chips. The dealer error is unfortunate but one of those things
b) and this is what I thought was interesting: Even though the pusher has agreed to correct for the mistake and to pass 7,200 chips back to UTG the TD says this is not possible as the tournament has moved on.
The tournament continues with no adjustment to stacks
as the pusher would you ever agree to passing the 7,200 chips back?
If you would agree, do you think you should be allowed to?
Or has the TD handled this impeccably?
Venue and TD irrelevant to this discussion!
Logged
My eyes are open wide
By the way,I made it through the day
I watch the world outside
By the way, I'm leaving out today
AndrewT
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 15479
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #1 on:
March 03, 2008, 03:46:15 PM »
I can understand the TD's stance on not messing with the dynamics of the tournament once it has moved on, but I think it's a bit nitty.
Moving the chips across two hands late is closer to preserving the natural order of things than not moving them at all.
Logged
Claw75
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 28410
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #2 on:
March 03, 2008, 03:46:48 PM »
In the interests of fairness and integrity, yes, I would agree to give back the chips. If both players accept there has been a mistake and are happy to rectify it among themselves I don't really see why the TD should need to be involved. If the pusher was kicking up saying 'you should have said something earlier, I don't want to give them back', THAT would be the time to call the TD IMO. In that case I think the ruling would be correct.
Logged
"Arguing with idiots is like playing chess with a pigeon....no matter how good you are the bird is going to shit on the board and strut around like it won anyway"
MANTIS01
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 6733
What kind of fuckery is this?
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #3 on:
March 03, 2008, 03:56:51 PM »
A casino, cards, chips, dealers and TD's are all there to facilitate a game between adults and this is why you pay your juice. But in my mind they can't be allowed to compromise my ethics. So yes, I would pay the man his rightful bet.
Interesting and similar one from the Grosvenor Grand Prix two years ago. 15 players remain when UTG pushes all-in, everyone folds around to M Cartwright on the bb. Matt asks the dealer for a count. Dealer says "36k" ( I can't remember the exact amounts) and Matt says "CALL". Hands go on their backs and Matt is behind. Dealer checks the all-in bet and has mis-counted because the bet is actually 46k. Matt protests because he called a 36k bet but would not have called a 46k bet. TD said he had to call the full bet??
Logged
Tikay - "He has a proven track record in business, he is articulate, intelligent, & presents his cases well"
Claw75 - "Mantis is not only a blonde legend he's also very easy on the eye"
Outragous76 - "a really nice certainly intelligent guy"
taximan007 & Girgy85 & Celtic & Laxie - <3 Mantis
boldie
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 22392
Don't make me mad
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #4 on:
March 03, 2008, 04:23:40 PM »
Yes I would give the chips back...BUT the TD is of course right.
What would make the situation very interesting is if the person who won that hand donks off all his chips (minus say 10k) the following hand and would then have to hand 7200 out of that amount back.
You can't play 2 hands and then complain. Pay attention and mention it earlier.
Like I said..I would have given the chips back but both players in the pot should have paid more attention to it to begin with and can't complain about the ruling now.
Logged
Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank, give a man a bank and he can rob the world.
ariston
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 3762
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #5 on:
March 03, 2008, 04:29:34 PM »
Quote from: MANTIS01 on March 03, 2008, 03:56:51 PM
A casino, cards, chips, dealers and TD's are all there to facilitate a game between adults and this is why you pay your juice. But in my mind they can't be allowed to compromise my ethics. So yes, I would pay the man his rightful bet.
Interesting and similar one from the Grosvenor Grand Prix two years ago. 15 players remain when UTG pushes all-in, everyone folds around to M Cartwright on the bb. Matt asks the dealer for a count. Dealer says "36k" ( I can't remember the exact amounts) and Matt says "CALL". Hands go on their backs and Matt is behind. Dealer checks the all-in bet and has mis-counted because the bet is actually 46k. Matt protests because he called a 36k bet but would not have called a 46k bet. TD said he had to call the full bet??
that ruling is incorrect. If he has asked for a count and been told it is 36k to call then that is all he is obliged to call. If it is then found out it is actually 46k it has been a dealer error and he has all the options open to him again (ie call or fold). This is why you ask for a count. As for the original one the TD has taken the letter of the rules too acurately and I would be asking the question who asked for a ruling? When I have seen similar things happen the players make a point of saying there is no need for a ruling, I will just give him his chips back. If a ruling is asked for you have to accept it even if an incorrect ruling is made. The TD has a difficult job to do and we should respect his decision. The TD is never wrong, even when he is
Logged
ariston
better lucky than good
dik9
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 3025
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #6 on:
March 03, 2008, 04:50:34 PM »
In original question TD was spot on IMHO
What if the following hand the recipiant of those chips got knocked out, can the short changed loser of the last pot claim chips from the winner of the present hand?,and the winner of the present hand gets knocked out next, can the short changed loser claim then? Decisions in the last two hands have been made according to chips in front of players. Action has gone too far IMO.
Logged
Cardroom Manager, Genting International Casino, Resorts World Birmingham
dealerFROMhell
Full Member
Offline
Posts: 255
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #7 on:
March 03, 2008, 06:04:19 PM »
Right ruling. If he ruled the other way, it leaves loads of avenues for chip dumping etc.
Logged
"Any raise?............ HELLO?"
doubleup
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 7123
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #8 on:
March 03, 2008, 06:22:23 PM »
Quote from: MANTIS01 on March 03, 2008, 03:56:51 PM
A casino, cards, chips, dealers and TD's are all there to facilitate a game between adults and this is why you pay your juice. But in my mind they can't be allowed to compromise my ethics. So yes, I would pay the man his rightful bet.
Interesting and similar one from the Grosvenor Grand Prix two years ago. 15 players remain when UTG pushes all-in, everyone folds around to M Cartwright on the bb. Matt asks the dealer for a count. Dealer says "36k" ( I can't remember the exact amounts) and Matt says "CALL". Hands go on their backs and Matt is behind. Dealer checks the all-in bet and has mis-counted because the bet is actually 46k. Matt protests because he called a 36k bet but would not have called a 46k bet. TD said he had to call the full bet??
This is a really difficult one. The only solution I can see is for the td to rule no further action in the hand and the additional chips to be returned to the player.
As far as the original situation, if the dealer confirms the error and both players agree, I think that the TD might have been flexible, but I can understand him taking the decision that he did.
Logged
turny
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 6234
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #9 on:
March 03, 2008, 06:51:28 PM »
easy ruling, the tournament has moved on the chips stay where they are
Logged
http://shrewdpoker.47.forumer.com/
Rookie (Rodney)
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 12991
ISHIKAWAAAAAAAAA
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #10 on:
March 03, 2008, 06:58:02 PM »
I think this all depends on what he pushed with and what he got called by ?
Logged
HI HELEN!
turny
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 6234
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #11 on:
March 03, 2008, 06:59:28 PM »
Quote from: Rookie (Rodney) on March 03, 2008, 06:58:02 PM
I think this all depends on what he pushed with and what he got called by ?
why?
Logged
http://shrewdpoker.47.forumer.com/
Rookie (Rodney)
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 12991
ISHIKAWAAAAAAAAA
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #12 on:
March 03, 2008, 07:01:41 PM »
Quote from: inthebelly on March 03, 2008, 06:59:28 PM
Quote from: Rookie (Rodney) on March 03, 2008, 06:58:02 PM
I think this all depends on what he pushed with and what he got called by ?
why?
lol, im interested..
Logged
HI HELEN!
turny
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 6234
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #13 on:
March 03, 2008, 07:10:00 PM »
cant believe the TD is in question here tbh fairly straightforward.
interesting that tighty should post this must be something personal for him to do so imo, so come on where and when?
Logged
http://shrewdpoker.47.forumer.com/
celtic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 19108
Re: An interesting ruling
«
Reply #14 on:
March 03, 2008, 08:48:40 PM »
been on both sides of this situation, once in luton where the dealer messed up the side pot, the dealer said it was correct when i questioned, we moved on he kept dealing the next hand, kept thinkin about it and it just didnt add up ( i ended up with half of what i should have had), told the dealer and he sorted it out 2 hands after it had happened. Everyone happy.
And recently at walsall was playing with my chips that were in the big blind in front of me, picked them up when i went to look at my cards, folded to the action in front of me, mucked my cards and held on to the 2k. it was only after the next hand had been dealt that i realised i still had them in my hand and coughed up to my mistake (no one else noticed) and handed them over to the winner of the previous pot.
Again everyone happy, no need for rulings etc. Best way IMO.
Logged
Keefy is back
But for how long?
Pages:
[
1
]
2
« previous
next »
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Poker Forums
-----------------------------
=> The Rail
===> past blonde Bashes
===> Best of blonde
=> Diaries and Blogs
=> Live Tournament Updates
=> Live poker
===> Live Tournament Staking
=> Internet Poker
===> Online Tournament Staking
=> Poker Hand Analysis
===> Learning Centre
-----------------------------
Community Forums
-----------------------------
=> The Lounge
=> Betting Tips and Sport Discussion
Loading...