Pokerron
|
 |
« on: January 25, 2006, 12:22:49 PM » |
|
At what point (if any) does it become permissible for a player to reraise a under-raise?
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Thread Killer
|
|
|
PointsUp
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2006, 12:40:04 PM » |
|
I've always been told that if a player has gone all in and it's an under raise your only options are to call or pass. no one can re-raise. But I could have been miss-informed, 
|
|
|
Logged
|
Bet the pot
|
|
|
Pokerron
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2006, 12:45:13 PM » |
|
Thats what i thought/think is the answer, but someone told me if the under raise is 50% of the bet being raised then its ok to reraise it.....
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Thread Killer
|
|
|
|
Pokerron
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2006, 12:56:19 PM » |
|
Thats great, thanks.
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Thread Killer
|
|
|
johnlarsson
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2006, 01:04:12 PM » |
|
tell me about it.
1st time i played live i tryed to raise an under raise and was told u canny do that. it took the guy about 20 mins to explain to me why u couldnt...
becoz i had only ever played crypot i had never heard of it b4
|
|
|
Logged
|
my profile is number 1888 ha ha ha lmao
|
|
|
turny
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2006, 01:35:52 PM » |
|
i have always been led to believe that you can reraise an underraise as long as you have not already acted in that round of betting.
for example if a guy bets 400 under the gun then a short stack goes all in for 550 then anyone acting after him is entitled to reraise including the blinds except the guy under the gun who can only call or fold when the action reaches him unless there has been a legitimate reraise then he may fold/call or reraise himself.
hope this makes sense
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Wardonkey
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2006, 01:43:07 PM » |
|
i have always been led to believe that you can reraise an underraise as long as you have not already acted in that round of betting.
for example if a guy bets 400 under the gun then a short stack goes all in for 550 then anyone acting after him is entitled to reraise including the blinds except the guy under the gun who can only call or fold when the action reaches him unless there has been a legitimate reraise then he may fold/call or reraise himself.
hope this makes sense
This makes perfect sense, well explained.
|
|
|
Logged
|
EEEEEEEEEE-AAAAAAAAWWWWW
|
|
|
Rod Paradise
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2006, 01:44:05 PM » |
|
tell me about it.
1st time i played live i tryed to raise an under raise and was told u canny do that. it took the guy about 20 mins to explain to me why u couldnt...
becoz i had only ever played crypot i had never heard of it b4
Freudian slip? 
|
|
|
Logged
|
May the bird of paradise fly up your nose, with a badger on its back.
|
|
|
Teacake
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2006, 01:47:30 PM » |
|
i have always been led to believe that you can reraise an underraise as long as you have not already acted in that round of betting.
for example if a guy bets 400 under the gun then a short stack goes all in for 550 then anyone acting after him is entitled to reraise including the blinds except the guy under the gun who can only call or fold when the action reaches him unless there has been a legitimate reraise then he may fold/call or reraise himself.
hope this makes sense
Makes perfect sense, that was my understanding as well
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Sheriff Fatman
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2006, 01:57:03 PM » |
|
Thats what i thought/think is the answer, but someone told me if the under raise is 50% of the bet being raised then its ok to reraise it.....
This is a valid rule but I think it only applies to limit poker. Sheriff
|
|
|
Logged
|
"...And If You Flash Him A Smile He'll Take Your Teeth As Deposit..." "Sheriff Fatman" - Carter the Unstoppable Sex Machine
2006 Blonde Caption Comp Ultimate Champion (to be replaced by actual poker achievements when I have any)
GUKPT Online Main Event Winner 2008 (yay, a poker achievement!)
|
|
|
The Baron
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2006, 02:06:14 PM » |
|
i have always been led to believe that you can reraise an underraise as long as you have not already acted in that round of betting.
for example if a guy bets 400 under the gun then a short stack goes all in for 550 then anyone acting after him is entitled to reraise including the blinds except the guy under the gun who can only call or fold when the action reaches him unless there has been a legitimate reraise then he may fold/call or reraise himself.
hope this makes sense
That is what I thought as well.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
johnlarsson
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2006, 04:30:33 PM » |
|
yeh thats true...
but the 1st person who called 400 chips. and then the guy moved all in for 550. everyone else afte rhim can raise if he wants to. but the 1st guy who called b4 he raised can only call or fold(if no1 else has raised)
|
|
|
Logged
|
my profile is number 1888 ha ha ha lmao
|
|
|
AndrewT
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2006, 04:45:39 PM » |
|
We've been through this a few times before, and the way to sort things out is this.
Treat the underraise as if it were a call.
What players can and can't do follows simply from this.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|