blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 09:19:43 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2272477 Posts in 66752 Topics by 16945 Members
Latest Member: Zula
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Community Forums
| |-+  The Lounge
| | |-+  Science is Amazing - a thread for Science Nerds
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Science is Amazing - a thread for Science Nerds  (Read 8200 times)
HutchGF

View Profile
« on: February 11, 2017, 07:44:14 PM »

Inspired by Tighty's post related to the pushing of the Milky Way across the galaxy I thought we could have a thread to post any and all Science related news. As I'm sure some of you know I am a Science teacher by trade and run a Science debate club at my school for the future medical students and engineers in our 6th form.

To give you a taste, we discussed whether Science has a responsibility to explore the unexplored corners of our Earth, such as the Moville Cave in Romania, which despite having a poisonous atmosphere and having been isolated from the rest of the world for 5.5 million years, appears to be teeming with life.

http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20150904-the-bizarre-beasts-living-in-romanias-poison-cave

I'm always looking for topics we can discuss and if anyone comes across anything interesting on the travels across the interweb please post it in this thread.

Here's a little something my students have had fun with - I defy anyone to spend 5 minutes with this and not have their minds blown.

http://htwins.net/scale2/

A recent topic for discussion was a thought experiment I set the class :

If we poured a glass of water into the North Sea and returned one year later and scooped up a glass of water from the sea, what is the likelihood of there being at least one molecule of water from the original glass in there?

muckthenuts

View Profile