blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 18, 2025, 03:00:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2262307 Posts in 66604 Topics by 16990 Members
Latest Member: Enut
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Poker Forums
| |-+  The Rail
| | |-+  A ruling please
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: A ruling please  (Read 2752 times)
ifm
If you're not part of the solution, you're a solid or a gas. Jimmy Carr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9259



View Profile WWW
« on: November 04, 2006, 02:12:43 AM »

Live game, blinds are 800/1600.
You have 25k and raise in late position to 5k, chap next to you reraises to 10k.
Action back to you (dealer says) and you call the 5k leaving 15k back.
Then a chap in the blind says "i'm allin" for 40k, he is before you and in effect you have acted out of turn thinking he had folded.
Now the question is can you fold or do you have to go allin???

The ruling by the cardroom manager was that you had to go allin as your chips had crossesd the line this was backed up by the other cardroom manager, is this correct?
Logged

Sometimes you have to suffer a little bit in your youth to motivate yourself to succeed in later life.
Do you think if Bill Gates got laid in high school, do you think there'd be a Microsoft?
Of course not.
Poppet7
Little Madam!
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4315


Lucky Lady


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2006, 02:17:05 AM »

I think you're allowed to take your chips back... I'm probably wrong though
Logged

bhoywonder
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3238



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2006, 02:52:18 AM »

dunno bout taking the bet back,very possibly


but certainly u do not have to call an all in,that would be outrageous
Logged

may your god go with you

Scottish Open Apat online gold medal winner 2008
Jonboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 135



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2006, 03:55:00 AM »

dunno bout taking the bet back,very possibly


but certainly u do not have to call an all in,that would be outrageous

  Dealers fault ... but I don't like to give them a hard time 
Logged
Jon MW
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6202



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2006, 04:33:33 AM »

dunno bout taking the bet back,very possibly


but certainly u do not have to call an all in,that would be outrageous

  Dealers fault ... but I don't like to give them a hard time 

I don't think you have to anyway, but when the dealer has misdirected you then that was definately the wrong decision
Logged

Jon "the British cowboy" Woodfield

2011 blonde MTT League August Champion
2011 UK Team Championships: Black Belt Poker Team Captain  - - runners up - -
5 Star HORSE Classic - 2007 Razz Champion
2007 WSOP Razz - 13/341
MadYank
Rezident Farang (Yank Flavour)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


Sawat Di Khrap!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2006, 04:38:42 AM »

Live game, blinds are 800/1600.
You have 25k and raise in late position to 5k, chap next to you reraises to 10k.
Action back to you (dealer says) and you call the 5k leaving 15k back.
Then a chap in the blind says "i'm allin" for 40k, he is before you and in effect you have acted out of turn thinking he had folded.
Now the question is can you fold or do you have to go allin???

The ruling by the cardroom manager was that you had to go allin as your chips had crossesd the line this was backed up by the other cardroom manager, is this correct?

EASY ANSWER if you use the TDA rules.

Action out of turn is NONBINDING especially when the DEALER causes you to act out of turn.

Your initial 5k bet is stuck in the pot No matter what. The call of 5K and the rest of your stack is FULLY opional to ou. IOW you can swallow the 5K, fold and retain your 20k. Whatever cardroom manager made this ruling is way way off the reservation.
Logged

TheJumper
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2006, 04:55:53 AM »

I agree with him above Smiley
Logged

- Raise!
ACE2M
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7832



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2006, 09:26:09 AM »

preposterous. thats just insane. i would have accepted losing the 5k and maybe even the other 5k but having to go all in is clearly not fair in anyones judgement surely.
Logged
tikay
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: I am a geek!!



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2006, 10:48:47 AM »

Unlikely as it may seem, MadYank has it about right.

ifm has SOME responsibility, even though the Dealer motioned him to act, it's still his responsibility to follow the play, so the 5k loss is not unreasonable, but that's all.

But there are no rights & wrongs, as we don't have standardised Rules. That rare commodity - Common sense - counts for a lot in my book, though.
Logged

All details of the 2016 Vegas Staking Adventure can be found via this link - http://bit.ly/1pdQZDY (copyright Anthony James Kendall, 2016).
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7126


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2006, 10:56:24 AM »

Live game, blinds are 800/1600.
You have 25k and raise in late position to 5k, chap next to you reraises to 10k.
Action back to you (dealer says) and you call the 5k leaving 15k back.
Then a chap in the blind says "i'm allin" for 40k, he is before you and in effect you have acted out of turn thinking he had folded.
Now the question is can you fold or do you have to go allin???

The ruling by the cardroom manager was that you had to go allin as your chips had crossesd the line this was backed up by the other cardroom manager, is this correct?

Complete nonsense as pointed out by other posters.  I really think that a lot of these bizarre rulings must be down to poor communication or poor listening skills.
Logged
tikay
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: I am a geek!!



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2006, 11:00:40 AM »

Live game, blinds are 800/1600.
You have 25k and raise in late position to 5k, chap next to you reraises to 10k.
Action back to you (dealer says) and you call the 5k leaving 15k back.
Then a chap in the blind says "i'm allin" for 40k, he is before you and in effect you have acted out of turn thinking he had folded.
Now the question is can you fold or do you have to go allin???

The ruling by the cardroom manager was that you had to go allin as your chips had crossesd the line this was backed up by the other cardroom manager, is this correct?

Complete nonsense as pointed out by other posters.  I really think that a lot of these bizarre rulings must be down to poor communication or poor listening skills.

That's part of the reason. Add...

TD's lack the necessary Authority.

We don't have Standard Rules.

Everyone at the Table joins in the debate & it becomes a "who shouts loudest" contest.

It would be SO easy to clean up Poker & make it a better game for all. Gonna be a struggle to achieve though.
Logged

All details of the 2016 Vegas Staking Adventure can be found via this link - http://bit.ly/1pdQZDY (copyright Anthony James Kendall, 2016).
Karabiner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22809


James Webb Telescope


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2006, 11:34:21 AM »

Do all of the chips have to be over the line like football, if so might there be a need for replays ?  >:?

Seriously though, being punished for a dealer's mistake is just ridiculous imo.
Logged

"Golf is deceptively simple and endlessly complicated. It satisfies the soul and frustrates the intellect. It is at the same time maddening and rewarding and it is without a doubt the greatest game that mankind has ever invented." - Arnold Palmer aka The King.
ifm
If you're not part of the solution, you're a solid or a gas. Jimmy Carr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9259



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2006, 12:22:31 PM »

This was at Walsall Grosvenor last night, the TD i had not seen before but he was backed up by a certain blondeite.........
I asked for a ruling i said "can i fold here?" and was told that once they were over the line that was it.
I had AJ so obviously (to me anyway) i was not going to persue the hand with a reraise and a reraise, even i know i'm in trouble (10 10, KK).
As soon as he had made the ruling the dealer started dealing the flop, turn and river, i told her to hang on but she wouldn't, after the hand the other cardroom manager came over and asked what the problem was, he was told and he just nodded his agreement to the first guy.
Logged

Sometimes you have to suffer a little bit in your youth to motivate yourself to succeed in later life.
Do you think if Bill Gates got laid in high school, do you think there'd be a Microsoft?
Of course not.
The_Diamond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2006, 03:38:40 PM »

Bad ruling fromt he TD. Any action out of turn is binding unless an intervening action changes it. In this case you should be allowed to take all of your chips back except for your initial raise, unless of course there is a house rule in place that explicitly states otherwise.
Logged

snoopy1239
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 33034



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2006, 04:14:44 PM »

Is that THE The_Diamond of Ireland fame?
« Last Edit: November 04, 2006, 04:16:32 PM by snoopy1239 » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.122 seconds with 20 queries.