blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 23, 2025, 03:46:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2262391 Posts in 66606 Topics by 16991 Members
Latest Member: nolankerwin
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Poker Forums
| |-+  Poker Hand Analysis
| | |-+  Under raise or not?
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Under raise or not?  (Read 7884 times)
Zispin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« on: November 27, 2006, 02:20:46 AM »

Surely i should get the chance to reraise the big stack pre flop, obviously not.

Multi-Table Tournament
Table Name Hand ID Game Stakes
MTT Table 11 13652772-62 Holdem No Limit 100/200
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Hand Start.
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 1 : vndghs has $2,785
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 2 : colinhh has $8,720
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 3 : BOOGIELHC has $3,900
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 4 : yoyo_jigga has $23,830
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 5 : Court02 has $3,250
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 6 : gsf13 has $535
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 7 : Zispin! has $6,810
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 9 : PDee has $3,950
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : yoyo_jigga is the dealer.
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Court02 posted small blind.
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : gsf13 posted big blind.
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Game [62] started with 8 players.
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Dealing Hole Cards.
[Nov 27 01:53:53] : Seat 7 : Zispin! has Ah
[Nov 27 01:53:54] : Stakes: 100/200 Current level: 4 Level up in: 7 min. Break in: 2 min. Players : 102
[Nov 27 01:53:56] : Zispin! called 200
[Nov 27 01:53:57] : PDee folded.
[Nov 27 01:53:59] : vndghs folded.
[Nov 27 01:54:07] : colinhh folded.
[Nov 27 01:54:08] : BOOGIELHC folded.
[Nov 27 01:54:14] : Stakes: 100/200 Current level: 4 Level up in: 6 min. Break in: 2 min. Players : 102
[Nov 27 01:54:18] : yoyo_jigga called 200 and raised 300
[Nov 27 01:54:18] : Court02 folded.
[Nov 27 01:54:23] : gsf13 called 300 and raised 35 and is All-in
[Nov 27 01:54:23] : Under-Raise rules are now in effect.
[Nov 27 01:54:24] : Zispin! called 335
[Nov 27 01:54:28] : yoyo_jigga called 35
[Nov 27 01:54:28] : Dealing flop.
[Nov 27 01:54:28] : Board cards [ Two Clubs]
[Nov 27 01:54:31] : Zispin! checked.
[Nov 27 01:54:33] : yoyo_jigga checked.
[Nov 27 01:54:33] : Dealing turn.
[Nov 27 01:54:33] : Board cards [ Two Clubs ]
[Nov 27 01:54:34] : Stakes: 100/200 Current level: 4 Level up in: 6 min. Break in: 2 min. Players : 102
[Nov 27 01:54:35] : Zispin! bet 800
[Nov 27 01:54:39] : yoyo_jigga called 800 and raised 22,495 and is All-in
[Nov 27 01:54:40] : Zispin! called 5,475 and is All-in
[Nov 27 01:54:41] : Showdown!
[Nov 27 01:54:41] : Seat 7 : Zispin! has Ah
[Nov 27 01:54:43] : Seat 4 : yoyo_jigga has Two Diamonds
[Nov 27 01:54:43] : Seat 6 : gsf13 has
[Nov 27 01:54:43] : Seat 7 : Zispin! has Ah
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Board cards [ Two Clubs ]
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Seat 4 : yoyo_jigga has Two Diamonds
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : yoyo_jigga has Flush AKQ82
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Seat 7 : Zispin! has Ah
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Zispin! has Two Pair: Aces and Kings
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : yoyo_jigga wins 12,550 with Flush AKQ82
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Seat 6 : gsf13 has
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : gsf13 has High Card : Ace
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Seat 7 : Zispin! has Ah
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Zispin! has Two Pair: Aces and Kings
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : Seat 4 : yoyo_jigga has Two Diamonds
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : yoyo_jigga has Flush AKQ82
[Nov 27 01:54:48] : yoyo_jigga wins 1,705 with Flush AKQ82
[Nov 27 01:55:01] : Stakes: 100/200 Current level: 4 Level up in: 6 min. Break in: 1 min. Players : 102
[Nov 27 01:55:10] : Hand is over.

 
Logged
The_Diamond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2006, 04:25:32 AM »

unfortunately not. You can't limp raise an underraise,  but you could have raised if you were behind him.

The rule is that any player who has already acted cannot raise after an under raise but any player who has not yet acted can, including the blinds.

Logged

doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2006, 09:48:40 AM »

unfortunately not. You can't limp raise an underraise,  but you could have raised if you were behind him.

The rule is that any player who has already acted cannot raise after an under raise but any player who has not yet acted can, including the blinds.



The first raise wasn't an under raise, so the limper should be allowed to reraise that. 

This is clearly a bug in the software, probably understandable as it would be a lot simpler to apply a general rule that no more raising can occur after an under raise instead of looking at all the possible scenarios.

You could e-mail the site about it, but they are unlikely to consider it a priority.
Logged
boldie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22392


Don't make me mad


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2006, 09:52:01 AM »

unfortunately not. You can't limp raise an underraise,  but you could have raised if you were behind him.

The rule is that any player who has already acted cannot raise after an under raise but any player who has not yet acted can, including the blinds.



that's what I thought to.
Logged

Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank, give a man a bank and he can rob the world.
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2006, 10:54:13 AM »

unfortunately not. You can't limp raise an underraise,  but you could have raised if you were behind him.

The rule is that any player who has already acted cannot raise after an under raise but any player who has not yet acted can, including the blinds.



that's what I thought to.

There is a difference between limp - limp - under raise and limp - raise - under raise.  In the second case action has already been re-opened for the limper by the first raiser.  He does not therefore fall into the definition of having acted.

Look at the situation of raise - reraise - under raise.  It would be absurd to state that the first raiser cannot do anything but call.
Logged
totalise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2620


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2006, 03:14:44 PM »

I cant see why he cant re-raise, he isn't raising an under-raise, he is trying to raise a legitimate raise and then the under-raise. The under-raise shouldn't have any affect because the limper hasn't acted to the raise yet. If  the guy had raised, he had called, then the other guy had under-raised alin, then he couldn't do anything. I think. I guess I should have saved time and said "i agree with doubleup"

it reminds me of party back in the day, you could re-raise anytime you wanted.. so if you made it 900.. and the SB went all in for 901 total, and the BB called, you could then re-raise... such fun and games. Amazing how it was ever number one poker room.

Logged
JungleCat03
Insidious underminer
Learning Centre Group
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4270



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2006, 07:20:56 PM »

I agree that logically it makes sense for the limper to be able to limp-raise in this scenario.

However, the rules I've seen applied usually align with ThaDiamond's interpretetation, ie any underraise now locks the betting actions for anyone who has acted previously, preventing further reraising from those who have already acted. Anyone who has yet to act may call or raise at their discretion though.

Standardised rules would be sweet.
Logged

"In darker days Jason Robinson found God. But that was after God found Jason Robinson."
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2006, 07:36:45 PM »



However, the rules I've seen applied usually align with ThaDiamond's interpretetation


Presumably you are referring to the ignorant people who run British Casino cardrooms.

Quote from the first rulebook I came across in a google search:

6. Multiple all-in wagers, each of an amount too small to qualify as a raise, still act as a raise and reopen the betting if the resulting wager size to a player qualifies as a raise.

Example: Player A bets $100 and Player B raises $100 more, making the total bet $200. If Player C goes all in for less than $300 total (not a full $100 raise), and Player A calls, then Player B has no option to raise again, because he wasn't fully raised. (Player A could have raised, because Player B raised.)

The last sentence in paragraphs deals with the point in question.

Logged
JungleCat03
Insidious underminer
Learning Centre Group
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4270



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2006, 07:53:17 PM »

Well there's no standardisation of rules. I'm not sure where you got that rule from.

This rule was available from a site called "Poker Rules" and agrees with Nicky's interpretation.

UNDER RAISE
This occurs when a player raises a prior bet but has to go all-in to do so. If the player under-raising - going all-in to raise - has less than half of the expected raise for that betting round, the betting round is locked. The term locked here means that any player who has already acted in the round (checked, called, or raised) may no longer raise. They may only call or fold. However, players who have yet to act (betting has not reached them yet) may raise the expected raise for that betting round, after calling. If the under-raise is half or more than the expected raise, the lock rule does not apply.


I find the above rule slightly amibiguous but if it is interpreted as expressed then it would prevent a player from limp raising an underraise (defined as a raise allin, less than half of a minimum riase.)
Admittedly it doesn't specifically refer to a scenario where someone limps, followed by a legitimate riase, followed by an underraise.

Personally, I would allow the limper to reraise in this case, and f*** any rules that say otherwise. It makes sense to allow them to react to the initial raise.

Additionally it avoids situations such as this.

You have player A with 2k, player B with 3k and player C sitting with 403 chips at blinds 50 100.

A limps UTG.

B riases to 400, C pushes for 403 and A can only call.

If B riases to 405 chips instead and C calls for 403 then A could now reraise.  This is plainly stupid.
Logged

"In darker days Jason Robinson found God. But that was after God found Jason Robinson."
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2006, 08:10:58 PM »


UNDER RAISE
This occurs when a player raises a prior bet but has to go all-in to do so. If the player under-raising - going all-in to raise - has less than half of the expected raise



I would be very surprised if this does not refer to limit poker as there is no such thing as an "expected raise" in nl.

ps when I said first rulebook I found in google, I meant a proper rulebook and not a moron's blog with his opinion on how poker should be played.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2006, 08:20:16 PM by doubleup » Logged
JungleCat03
Insidious underminer
Learning Centre Group
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4270



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2006, 08:56:28 PM »



UNDER RAISE
This occurs when a player raises a prior bet but has to go all-in to do so. If the player under-raising - going all-in to raise - has less than half of the expected raise



I would be very surprised if this does not refer to limit poker as there is no such thing as an "expected raise" in nl.

ps when I said first rulebook I found in google, I meant a proper rulebook and not a moron's blog with his opinion on how poker should be played.

What do you mean by proper rulebook? As far as I'm aware there are no standardised set of rules, but merely various body's interpretations on particular situations. This leads to ambiguities such as is illustrated on this issue. There is no "proper rulebook" as such.

I don't get the reference to moron blogger? The rule I quoted was from a well known online poker site, not that i give it much credibility based on this!

I think most poker players would agree that in this case common sense dictates the limper should be allowed to re-act to the initial raiser's raise.
Logged

"In darker days Jason Robinson found God. But that was after God found Jason Robinson."
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2006, 10:24:55 PM »

The section you quoted has either been written by an idiot or refers to limit poker.

Sorry if my first response was a bit brusque - I was multi-tabling at the time.

What is the url of the rulebook that it came from?

My definition of a "proper" rulebook is one where the author has made an attempt to cover the basics of betting and play and most of the common situations caused by dealer or player error.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2006, 11:12:05 PM by doubleup » Logged
The_Diamond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2006, 01:34:41 AM »

The section you quoted has either been written by an idiot or refers to limit poker.

Sorry if my first response was a bit brusque - I was multi-tabling at the time.

What is the url of the rulebook that it came from?

My definition of a "proper" rulebook is one where the author has made an attempt to cover the basics of betting and play and most of the common situations caused by dealer or player error.

You haven't got a bloody clue what you're talking about.

Any player that has already acted (this include limp preflop and even check postflop) may not re-raise affter there has been an under-raise. How can the hand above NOT be an underraise when the all in player has gone in for another 35 when the first raise was 300.

Are you going to argue that the TDA rules are bull also?

38. In no-limit and pot limit, less than a full raise does not reopen the betting to a player who already has acted.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2006, 01:38:01 AM by The_Diamond » Logged

totalise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2620


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2006, 01:44:48 AM »

Quote
38. In no-limit and pot limit, less than a full raise does not reopen the betting to a player who already has acted.


the issue is that there has been a full (legal)raise after the guy has limped, so the problem apparently comes from the fact that a full raise has been made, no one has acted on that raise, before the under-raise is made... ie,  the betting has already been reopened before the under-raise. This isn't clarified by the line quoted above.


You can defo re-raise on most online sites, no idea about live play



Logged
The_Diamond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2006, 01:54:48 AM »

Quote
38. In no-limit and pot limit, less than a full raise does not reopen the betting to a player who already has acted.


the issue is that there has been a full (legal)raise after the guy has limped, so the problem apparently comes from the fact that a full raise has been made, no one has acted on that raise, before the under-raise is made... ie,  the betting has already been reopened before the under-raise. This isn't clarified by the line quoted above.


You can defo re-raise on most online sites, no idea about live play


Which online site? I doubt that very much. B2B maybe but I can't think of any other site where you might be able to raise here.

There is no issue with the fact that that there has been a raise in between the limper and the under riase. The rule is simple. If you haven't already acted you can re-raise, if you have then you can only call or fold. I had a similar argument recently with a swede in a cash game, it may be a regional thing but I am certain that TDA rule is the one in most common usage and to say that there is a bug in the software is just ridiulous.

Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.296 seconds with 19 queries.