blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 23, 2025, 09:13:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2262399 Posts in 66606 Topics by 16991 Members
Latest Member: nolankerwin
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Poker Forums
| |-+  Poker Hand Analysis
| | |-+  FuK My Life...Ruling Needed Please
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: FuK My Life...Ruling Needed Please  (Read 2532 times)
Laxie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16000



View Profile
« on: March 25, 2008, 02:50:34 AM »

OK...here's the deal.  Blinds, antes and all that rubbish don't really matter.  SB, BB are in.  Before the next to act even had a chance to act, the BB declared he was all in regardless, with maybe 5 times the blind behind him.  He didn't push in the chips, just made the statement.  Fold around to one lad in mid position who re-raised to 10 times the blind.  Folds back around to BB who now wants to fold.  Is his verbal announcement of 'All in' binding or is he allowed to now fold to the re-raise? 

Answers on a postcard while I find the nearest bridge.  Cheers.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2008, 03:19:20 AM by Laxie » Logged

I bet when Hugh Hefner dies, you won't hear anyone say, "He's in a better place."
GlasgowBandit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5646


Global Pacifier


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2008, 03:10:44 AM »

verbal declaration stands.
Logged

Royal Flush
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22690


Booooccccceeeeeee


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2008, 03:46:14 AM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.
Logged

[19:44:40] Oracle: WE'RE ALL GOING ON A SPANISH HOLIDAY! TRIGGS STABLES SHIT!
celtic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 19178



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2008, 04:17:37 AM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

yep what flushy said.
Logged

Keefy is back Smiley But for how long?
boldie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22392


Don't make me mad


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2008, 07:26:35 AM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

yep what flushy said.

Yep...although in some places verbal declarations don't mean a thing.
Logged

Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank, give a man a bank and he can rob the world.
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2008, 10:04:41 AM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.
Logged
KarmaDope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9281


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2008, 10:13:18 AM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.

Action has changed. The bet amount has changed, therefore verbal declaration does not count any more. He can pass.
Logged
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2008, 12:40:53 PM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.

Action has changed. The bet amount has changed, therefore verbal declaration does not count any more. He can pass.

It hasn't changed - he went allin out of turn, a specific amount and this amount hasnt changed.
Logged
GlasgowBandit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5646


Global Pacifier


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2008, 12:54:25 PM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.

Action has changed. The bet amount has changed, therefore verbal declaration does not count any more. He can pass.

It hasn't changed - he went allin out of turn, a specific amount and this amount hasnt changed.

This is the line I take he has announced all in, no other action before him can change that.  He has openly declared that he is going AI.  Had he bet out of turn ie say 3 x BB and it was raised prior to him putting that bet in then fine he can pass but not once he has announced that he is AI.
Logged

KarmaDope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9281


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2008, 01:06:13 PM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.

Action has changed. The bet amount has changed, therefore verbal declaration does not count any more. He can pass.

It hasn't changed - he went allin out of turn, a specific amount and this amount hasnt changed.

This is the line I take he has announced all in, no other action before him can change that.  He has openly declared that he is going AI.  Had he bet out of turn ie say 3 x BB and it was raised prior to him putting that bet in then fine he can pass but not once he has announced that he is AI.

Why does it matter how much he's bet? He has declared a bet of x chips out of turn by declaring all in. Somebody else has bet another amount higher than his bet before the action has reached him. He can pass.

Based on what you say, his action must stand because he has used the words "all in", rather than saying "I bet x".

I happen to agree with you that a verbal declaration SHOULD stand. However, if action has changed then it doesn't. If I was TD the offending player would get a warning, and if he did it again, 20 mins away from the table.
Logged
Royal Flush
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22690


Booooccccceeeeeee


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2008, 04:10:06 PM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.

Action has changed. The bet amount has changed, therefore verbal declaration does not count any more. He can pass.

It hasn't changed - he went allin out of turn, a specific amount and this amount hasnt changed.

When you act out of turn it is only binding if the action does not change infront of you, so if someone bets £100 and someone in the middle is thinking and you say raise out of turn you only have to raise if the middle man flats or folds, if he himself raises you can now fold. The same obviously applies if you call out of turn and the bet size changes before it gets to you.
Logged

[19:44:40] Oracle: WE'RE ALL GOING ON A SPANISH HOLIDAY! TRIGGS STABLES SHIT!
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2008, 04:32:19 PM »

verbal declaration stands.

Unless the action before him changes.....

If the MP guy limps he has to shove, if someone raises before him he can pass.

But the action hasn't changed i.e. nothing has happened that will change the size his bet out of turn.

Action has changed. The bet amount has changed, therefore verbal declaration does not count any more. He can pass.

It hasn't changed - he went allin out of turn, a specific amount and this amount hasnt changed.

When you act out of turn it is only binding if the action does not change infront of you, so if someone bets £100 and someone in the middle is thinking and you say raise out of turn you only have to raise if the middle man flats or folds, if he himself raises you can now fold. The same obviously applies if you call out of turn and the bet size changes before it gets to you.

I understand what you and sharplea are saying and it all depends on the interpretation of "changed action".  I would consider the action as not changing, mainly because of the obvious angle-shooting advantage that any other ruling gives the angle-shooter in this case.

Logged
Royal Flush
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22690


Booooccccceeeeeee


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2008, 05:39:02 PM »

Err but the action has changed. Before the amount to go was 1BB, now there has been a raise, by definition the action has changed.

Its hard to get an advantage from it as deliberately acting out of turn usually comes with a time penalty.
Logged

[19:44:40] Oracle: WE'RE ALL GOING ON A SPANISH HOLIDAY! TRIGGS STABLES SHIT!
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7130


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2008, 06:05:34 PM »

Err but the action has changed. Before the amount to go was 1BB, now there has been a raise, by definition the action has changed.

Its hard to get an advantage from it as deliberately acting out of turn usually comes with a time penalty.

No one has acted at all, so even a call from the sb is a change in action if you want to interpret the term strictly.  I would rather consider the rule as being a relevant change in action with respect to the out of turn action.  i.e. out of turn call facing a raise or out of turn raise facing a bigger raise.  Although I do see the merits of giving the bb 3 circuits away from the table as well.
Logged
mondatoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22504



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2008, 06:15:23 PM »

Playing in aspers in newcastle a few weeks ago i raised it utg 4xbb this lad wasn't paying attention all the way through the tournament and was clearly quite new but at the same time knew what he was doing he said call but he thought that he was just calling the blind and didn't realise that i had raised it the td was called over and said he didnt have to call as he hadn't realised it had been raised wtf???  is that just ludicrous or what.I only had aj and was happy to take his calll as it was about a 1/4 of his stack and to take the blinds as i only had aj but if i had've had aa think i would've persued it with td surely he's incorrect to say he doesn't have to call?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.129 seconds with 20 queries.