poker news
blondepedia
card room
tournament schedule
uk results
galleries
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
July 18, 2025, 05:17:07 PM
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Search:
Advanced search
Order through Amazon and help blonde Poker
2262307
Posts in
66604
Topics by
16990
Members
Latest Member:
Enut
blonde poker forum
Poker Forums
The Rail
Ruling
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
« previous
next »
Pages:
[
1
]
2
3
Author
Topic: Ruling (Read 4244 times)
snoopy1239
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 33034
Ruling
«
on:
November 02, 2008, 06:56:07 PM »
Guy opens for 900 (blinds of 150/300).
Lady doesn't realises there has been a raise and says 'raise to 800' before putting in any chips.
What should the ruling be here?
Logged
boldie
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 22392
Don't make me mad
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #1 on:
November 02, 2008, 06:59:21 PM »
Quote from: snoopy1239 on November 02, 2008, 06:56:07 PM
Guy opens for 900 (blinds of 150/300).
Lady doesn't realises there has been a raise and says 'raise to 800' before putting in any chips.
What should the ruling be here?
This is why they have special poker tourneys for women
Raise stands.
Logged
Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank, give a man a bank and he can rob the world.
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 16192
Let's go round again
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #2 on:
November 02, 2008, 07:00:29 PM »
raise was declared before the amount so it should be a min raise
Logged
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
DaveShoelace
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 9165
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #3 on:
November 02, 2008, 07:00:47 PM »
Raise stands, should be a min raise
Logged
snoopy1239
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 33034
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #4 on:
November 02, 2008, 07:07:11 PM »
Does it make a difference that she said 'raise
to
800' instead of 'raise 800'? 'Raise to 800' isn't even an underaise, it's an undercall.
Logged
TightEnd
Administrator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: I am a geek!!
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #5 on:
November 02, 2008, 07:23:58 PM »
verbal of "raise" goes, as the amount is < min raise, goes as a min raise
Logged
My eyes are open wide
By the way,I made it through the day
I watch the world outside
By the way, I'm leaving out today
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 16192
Let's go round again
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #6 on:
November 02, 2008, 08:12:30 PM »
Quote from: snoopy1239 on November 02, 2008, 07:07:11 PM
Does it make a difference that she said 'raise
to
800' instead of 'raise 800'? 'Raise to 800' isn't even an underaise, it's an undercall.
yes, it makes an absolutely huge difference as 'raise 800' (as opposed to raise, 800) would be a legitimate raise to 1700, 'raise to 800' is a min raise to 1300
this is not however true in ireland or any cardroom which operates the ridic rule of raises having to at least double the previous bet, in these places all 3 of those cases would result in a min raise to 1800
Logged
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
snoopy1239
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 33034
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #7 on:
November 02, 2008, 08:19:56 PM »
Quote from: gatso on November 02, 2008, 08:12:30 PM
Quote from: snoopy1239 on November 02, 2008, 07:07:11 PM
Does it make a difference that she said 'raise
to
800' instead of 'raise 800'? 'Raise to 800' isn't even an underaise, it's an undercall.
yes, it makes an absolutely huge difference as 'raise 800' (as opposed to raise, 800) would be a legitimate raise to 1700, 'raise to 800' is a min raise to 1300
this is not however true in ireland or any cardroom which operates the ridic rule of raises having to at least double the previous bet, in these places all 3 of those cases would result in a min raise to 1800
I guess I can see why she'd be forced to make a min-raise, considering that the total minimum amount she can raise to is 1,500 and 800 is above half. But what if she'd said 'to 700', would that have to be a call or something seeing that it's below half?
Logged
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 16192
Let's go round again
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #8 on:
November 02, 2008, 08:25:17 PM »
Quote from: snoopy1239 on November 02, 2008, 08:19:56 PM
Quote from: gatso on November 02, 2008, 08:12:30 PM
Quote from: snoopy1239 on November 02, 2008, 07:07:11 PM
Does it make a difference that she said 'raise
to
800' instead of 'raise 800'? 'Raise to 800' isn't even an underaise, it's an undercall.
yes, it makes an absolutely huge difference as 'raise 800' (as opposed to raise, 800) would be a legitimate raise to 1700, 'raise to 800' is a min raise to 1300
this is not however true in ireland or any cardroom which operates the ridic rule of raises having to at least double the previous bet, in these places all 3 of those cases would result in a min raise to 1800
I guess I can see why she'd be forced to make a min-raise, considering that the total minimum amount she can raise to is 1,500 and 800 is above half. But what if she'd said 'to 700', would that have to be a call or something seeing that it's below half?
no, the initial declaration was raise, nothing after can change that, we only need to figure if it's a min raise or more than that.
whether or not the amount is more than 1/2 the min raise is only considered when chips are put in the middle with no verbal declaration of call or raise
Logged
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
AlexMartin
spewtards r us
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 8039
rat+rabbiting society of herts- future champ
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #9 on:
November 02, 2008, 09:14:13 PM »
"raise" is the key word. goes as a min raise.
Logged
kinboshi
ROMANES EUNT DOMUS
Administrator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 44239
We go again.
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #10 on:
November 02, 2008, 09:23:15 PM »
What happens if you say "raise" and then announce a figure that's more than the number of chips you have in front of you? You can't raise that amount (obviously), and as you've said raise, you have to raise something - but are you then obliged to make a min raise or do you have to raise all-in?
Logged
'The meme for blind faith secures its own perpetuation by the simple unconscious expedient of discouraging rational inquiry.'
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 16192
Let's go round again
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #11 on:
November 02, 2008, 09:39:36 PM »
Quote from: kinboshi on November 02, 2008, 09:23:15 PM
What happens if you say "raise" and then announce a figure that's more than the number of chips you have in front of you? You can't raise that amount (obviously), and as you've said raise, you have to raise something - but are you then obliged to make a min raise or do you have to raise all-in?
never come across this one but I would say that if a verbal declaration is of an impossible amount either because of chip denominations in play or stack size then the td should rule it as the closest possible legal bet, in this case it'd be all-in
Logged
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
Cf
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 8081
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #12 on:
November 02, 2008, 10:09:33 PM »
I'm going to go against the grain here and suggest that this lady is not held to her raise: she can fold, call, or raise (to any amount she pleases). No-limit rules do allow some leeway in having not noticed the size of a previous wager.
In this case she clearly thinks the bet stands at 300, but she is mistaken - it is 900. Providing there has been no further action she, at the discretion of the TD, can reconsider what to do.
12. Because the amount of a wager at big-bet poker has such a wide range, a player who has taken action based on a gross misunderstanding of the amount wagered may receive some protection by the decision-maker. A "call" or “raise” may be ruled not binding if it is obvious that the player grossly misunderstood the amount wagered, provided no damage has been caused by that action. Example: Player A bets $300, player B reraises to $1200, and Player C puts $300 into the pot and says, “call.” It is obvious that player C believes the bet to be only $300 and he should be allowed to withdraw his $300 and reconsider his wager. A bettor should not show down a hand until the amount put into the pot for a call seems reasonably correct, or it is obvious that the caller understands the amount wagered. The decision-maker is allowed considerable discretion in ruling on this type of situation. A possible rule-of-thumb is to disallow any claim of not understanding the amount wagered if the caller has put eighty percent or more of that amount into the pot.
Example: On the end, a player puts a $500 chip into the pot and says softly, “Four hundred.” The opponent puts a $100 chip into the pot and says, “Call.” The bettor immediately shows the hand. The dealer says, “He bet four hundred.” The caller says, “Oh, I thought he bet a hundred.” In this case, the recommended ruling normally is that the bettor had an obligation to not show the hand when the amount put into the pot was obviously short, and the “call” can be retracted. Note that the character of each player can be a factor. (Unfortunately, situations can arise at big-bet poker that are not so clear-cut as this.)
Logged
Blue text
dik9
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 3025
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #13 on:
November 02, 2008, 10:39:46 PM »
Quote from: Cf on November 02, 2008, 10:09:33 PM
I'm going to go against the grain here and suggest that this lady is not held to her raise: she can fold, call, or raise (to any amount she pleases).
No-limit rules do allow some leeway in having not noticed the size of a previous wager.
In this case
she clearly thinks the bet stands at 300
, but she is mistaken - it is 900. Providing there has been no further action she, at the discretion of the TD, can reconsider what to do.
huh?
It is down to the player to follow the action, Gatso is 100% correct
Min Raise if it was "
to
800"
A Raise of 800 if she said "Raise 800" as the guy opening has gone 300 with 600 therefore raising 800 would be legit.
Logged
Cardroom Manager, Genting International Casino, Resorts World Birmingham
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 16192
Let's go round again
Re: Ruling
«
Reply #14 on:
November 02, 2008, 10:45:29 PM »
cf, that rule (which is kinda ridic and luckily only at the discretion of the td rather than set in stone) is for instances in which chips have been placed in the pot with no verbal declaration. if there is any verbal declaration as in this case then that stands.
as you like robert's rules I'll quote from them
8. A verbal statement denotes your action and is binding. If in turn you verbally declare a fold,
check, bet, call, or raise, you are forced to take that action.
Logged
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
Pages:
[
1
]
2
3
« previous
next »
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Poker Forums
-----------------------------
=> The Rail
===> past blonde Bashes
===> Best of blonde
=> Diaries and Blogs
=> Live Tournament Updates
=> Live poker
===> Live Tournament Staking
=> Internet Poker
===> Online Tournament Staking
=> Poker Hand Analysis
===> Learning Centre
-----------------------------
Community Forums
-----------------------------
=> The Lounge
=> Betting Tips and Sport Discussion
Loading...