blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 23, 2025, 09:09:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2262399 Posts in 66606 Topics by 16991 Members
Latest Member: nolankerwin
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Poker Forums
| |-+  The Rail
| | |-+  Yet Another Ruling Thread
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Yet Another Ruling Thread  (Read 1703 times)
Cf
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8081



View Profile
« on: January 20, 2009, 04:02:46 PM »

This occured last night in my home game.

I'm heads up, I have about 19k, villian 17k. I shove my SB with  . Villian calls in the BB with  . We're now essentially flipping for the tournament.

Flop comes:  ..... , but the  is faceup in the deck.

How to proceed?
Logged

Blue text
Claw75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28410



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2009, 04:10:52 PM »

mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.
Logged

"Arguing with idiots is like playing chess with a pigeon....no matter how good you are the bird is going to shit on the board and strut around like it won anyway"
KarmaDope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9281


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2009, 04:13:44 PM »

mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.

+1.

there's no gain to either player so I'd carry on as normal.
Logged
Girgy85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9507



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2009, 04:16:06 PM »

mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.

+1.

there's no gain to either player so I'd carry on as normal.

agreed, nobody has seen that card so id play on as normal!

if however it was the burn card then what happens then?
Logged

Best poster Girgy IMO - Mantis

Girgy is my new hero! - Evilpie

Think Girgy has shown the best leopard instincts in this thread and would prob survive best in the wild. Eye of the tiger that fella - Mantis

Girgy is a m'fkn machine - Daveshoelace
ariston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3762


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2009, 04:22:07 PM »

the ace of clubs stands for me. if it was the burn card then it still is the burn card- using the old 3rd card from the bottom wont change anything as its still the burn card. nothing changes and no action can be effected as it was an allin preflop scenario. imo get a dealer who doesnt box the cards. if action was still to take place the a clubs still stands unless its the burn card. in this scenario the ace of clubs must be put back into the deck and the deck reshuffled giving it the chance to still be the burn card. this would also mean the information given by knowing the burn card () is useless as its still part of the deck.
Logged

ariston

better lucky than good
Claw75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28410



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2009, 04:22:40 PM »

mmm - i'd say flop stands and play on as normal.

+1.

there's no gain to either player so I'd carry on as normal.

agreed, nobody has seen that card so id play on as normal!

if however it was the burn card then what happens then?

would just be an exposed burn card imo
Logged

"Arguing with idiots is like playing chess with a pigeon....no matter how good you are the bird is going to shit on the board and strut around like it won anyway"
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16192


Let's go round again


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2009, 04:35:41 PM »

the ace of clubs stands for me. if it was the burn card then it still is the burn card- using the old 3rd card from the bottom wont change anything as its still the burn card. nothing changes and no action can be effected as it was an allin preflop scenario. imo get a dealer who doesnt box the cards. if action was still to take place the a clubs still stands unless its the burn card. in this scenario the ace of clubs must be put back into the deck and the deck reshuffled giving it the chance to still be the burn card. this would also mean the information given by knowing the burn card () is useless as its still part of the deck.

this
Logged

If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
Cf
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8081



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2009, 06:40:55 PM »

This was an interesting situation because this was my game, meaning I'm in charge of making the ruling, yet I'm also one of the players involved in this pot. The ruling I make will essentially decide who wins the tournament (albeit with no way of knowing which way it will go).

To me there were 4 options:

1) Void the hand
2) Let the card stand
3) Pretend it was never there, throw it away, and carry on
4) Shuffle it back into the deck and proceed.

It was an awkward one to call because obviously option 2 is bad for me, option 3 is good, and options 1/4 don't really matter. So obvioulsy I want to make the correct ruling.

So what did I do? I do what I always do and consult Robert's Rules Smiley (I explicitly state that my home games follow RRs)


7. A card discovered faceup in the deck (boxed card) will be treated as a meaningless scrap of paper. A card being treated as a scrap of paper will be replaced by the next card below it in the deck.


Having decided that this is what we were going to do, I confirmed with the other player that this was the ruling and he was happy with it. He was, so we threw the ace to the side and carried on as if it was never there. The end result was I hit a  on the river to make the straight. Had we let the ace play the 55 would of won. In all it was a very unsatisfying way to win a tournament, but I'm quite confident I acted as fairly as I could given the circumstances.


As an aside, GUKPT rules differ here:

#  A boxed card will remain in the deck (all players will be made aware of the card) until it comes into play at which point rule 12 will be applied. If the card does not come into play no action will be taken.

Prior to completion of the betting a card exposed in error by the dealer will be shuffled back into the remaining live deck, this applies to the first card of the flop, turn and river cards.

Which I believe is option 4 listed above.
Logged

Blue text
phatomch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1593



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2009, 06:50:25 PM »

No its not the same as your rule 4


this applies to the first card of the flop, turn and river cards.


its the 3rd card of the flop so has made no difference to the action, so Grosvenor rule would be the same as everyone else has said. The card stands ie rule 2 ( the worst one for you)
Logged
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16192


Let's go round again


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2009, 06:53:21 PM »

looks like your ruling is also correct under tda rules cf, card is disgarded.

thread here about the tda being asked to change it but declining

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/27/brick-mortar/amending-boxed-card-rule-347983/
Logged

If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.115 seconds with 19 queries.