blonde poker forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 21, 2025, 04:38:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
2261805 Posts in 66596 Topics by 16984 Members
Latest Member: thomas_1
* Home Help Arcade Search Calendar Guidelines Login Register
+  blonde poker forum
|-+  Poker Forums
| |-+  The Rail
| | |-+  Another Ruling Thread
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Another Ruling Thread  (Read 2468 times)
dik9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3025



View Profile WWW
« on: October 25, 2009, 07:16:31 AM »

The beauty of working at DTD is that there are a number of TD's and Floorstaff that can discuss and talk a ruling through, but this one is slightly unusual as there is a difference of opinion.

Blinds are 75/150

Small blind has 3 x 25 in
Big Blind 6 x 25 in

Folds around to small blind, who takes 2 yellows back and puts in 1 x 500, but didn't say anything, leaving him with 525 in the pot
BB asks dealer whether it is a raise, dealer calls for a ruling.

Discuss
Logged

Cardroom Manager, Genting International Casino, Resorts World Birmingham
jezza777
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1499



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2009, 07:26:01 AM »

It is a call I think. Once his chips are in the pot For the blind they are not his so he is using one chip , the 500 . One chip in with no verbal goes as a call I think.
Logged
ScottMGee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 481



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2009, 07:53:38 AM »

Quote
It is a call I think. Once his chips are in the pot For the blind they are not his so he is using one chip , the 500 . One chip in with no verbal goes as a call I think.

If he leaves his 3 x 25 in place I would have said its a call, as one chip added to the table.

Howver, since he has taken back 2 x 25 then his intention is surely to raise to 525.
Logged
DaveShoelace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9165



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2009, 08:12:18 AM »

I would say that was a raise, because if he was calling why would he leave the third 25 in, which doesn't really help you get him change? Surely he would take all three 25s back and put the one chip in if it was a call, or at least not take any 25s back and complete with the 500? This is of course dependent on what other chips he has remaining, if he has more than enough 100s and 25s to make a combination of 150, that weights it even more towards a raise.

Logged
Cf
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8081



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2009, 09:26:39 AM »

Raise for me. A player is entitled to pull his own chips back in this spot so if he wantd to call but didn't have change then he should prob pull his 150 back first before throwing the 500. As the 25 in there is his I'd rule it as a 2 chip bet so 525.
Logged

Blue text
doubleup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7123


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2009, 09:29:11 AM »


If the button put in 525 there would be no debate about whether it was a raise or not, so why is the sb any different?
Logged
Girgy85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9507



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2009, 09:32:05 AM »

Raise for me. A player is entitled to pull his own chips back in this spot so if he wantd to call but didn't have change then he should prob pull his 75 back first before throwing the 500. As the 25 in there is his I'd rule it as a 2 chip bet so 525.

fyp

and I agree with this!!
Logged

Best poster Girgy IMO - Mantis

Girgy is my new hero! - Evilpie

Think Girgy has shown the best leopard instincts in this thread and would prob survive best in the wild. Eye of the tiger that fella - Mantis

Girgy is a m'fkn machine - Daveshoelace
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16192


Let's go round again


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2009, 10:43:45 AM »

100% a raise. if he meant to call then there is no reason for his actions
Logged

If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
Ironside
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 41883



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2009, 10:52:13 AM »

100% a raise. if he meant to call then there is no reason for his actions

+1
Logged

I am the master of my fate
I am the captain of my soul.
outragous76
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13315


Yeah Bitch! ......... MAGNETS! owwwh!


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2009, 10:53:29 AM »

100% a raise. if he meant to call then there is no reason for his actions

this
Logged

".....and then I spent 2 hours talking with Stu which blew my mind.........."
Claw75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28410



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2009, 10:56:03 AM »

yep deffo a raise imo. surprised it was even queried tbh.
Logged

"Arguing with idiots is like playing chess with a pigeon....no matter how good you are the bird is going to shit on the board and strut around like it won anyway"
dik9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3025



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2009, 11:23:14 AM »


If the button put in 525 there would be no debate about whether it was a raise or not, so why is the sb any different?

If the SB had 3 x 25 chips and simply just threw a 500 chip on top it is only seen as a call (if the button put 575 it is a raise). If the SB took the 75 back and threw a 500 chip in, it is a call.

The arguement is technically, as a blind is a forced bet, all the player has done is to throw in an oversize chip. If he took the 75 back and then threw 525 in it would be a raise, but TECHNICALLY and literally an oversize chip has been thrown in, the rule doesn't say anything about taking a chip out of the pot (as the player really shouldn't be having his hands in the pot in the first place)

 
Logged

Cardroom Manager, Genting International Casino, Resorts World Birmingham
outragous76
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13315


Yeah Bitch! ......... MAGNETS! owwwh!


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2009, 11:28:26 AM »

but surely by leaving 1 chip in, i shows a clear intent - he would have absolutely no reason to do it otherwise

Logged

".....and then I spent 2 hours talking with Stu which blew my mind.........."
gatso
Ninja Mod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16192


Let's go round again


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: October 25, 2009, 11:30:04 AM »

If he took the 75 back and then threw 525 in it would be a raise,

this is what he has effectively done and it is clearly his intention

how was it ruled at the time?
Logged

If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
Karabiner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 22801


James Webb Telescope


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2009, 11:31:23 AM »

What if the guy was colourblind or unfamiliar/confused about the values of the chips ?

It's a tricky one with no communication from the player.
Logged

"Golf is deceptively simple and endlessly complicated. It satisfies the soul and frustrates the intellect. It is at the same time maddening and rewarding and it is without a doubt the greatest game that mankind has ever invented." - Arnold Palmer aka The King.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.143 seconds with 19 queries.