George2Loose
|
 |
« on: March 14, 2011, 03:25:17 PM » |
|
Player A raises to 8k at 1.5k/3.k
PLayer B makes it 15k more
Dealer advises player A its 10k more. He calls
Flop is dealt
Suddenly table realises Player A owes pot 5k
Floor is called. Ruling should be?
|
|
|
Logged
|
Ole Ole Ole Ole!
|
|
|
AndrewT
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 03:28:40 PM » |
|
AndrewT, gatso and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.
Gatso's 'ruling thread' bat signal works again. CF's must be broken.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
gatso
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 03:32:13 PM » |
|
yeah, cf's rubbish lately. need him to come on so I can quote and put +1 cos I dunno what to say about this one
|
|
|
Logged
|
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
|
|
|
Longines
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 04:26:21 PM » |
|
I'd give A the preflop option to call or fold. If he calls, reshuffle the stub and deal a new flop.
No idea if it's 'correct' but it seems fairest all round.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Cf
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2011, 06:42:11 PM » |
|
Urk. It's a dealer mistake but I think no matter the flop the player is obligated to put the remaining chips in. He has been badly advised but it's ultimately his responsibility for knowing the amount.
The other option is to treat it as a premature flop and rewind the action. But I don't like this. Ultimately it's the players own fault, even with the dealer misadvising.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Blue text
|
|
|
GreekStein
Hero Member
Hero Member

Offline
Posts: 20728
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2011, 06:46:19 PM » |
|
Agree with above. Player has to put it in.
Sucky situ tho
|
|
|
Logged
|
@GreekStein on twitter.
Retired Policeman, Part time troll.
|
|
|
BulldozerD
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2011, 06:52:10 PM » |
|
give the dealer a one round penalty..
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
George2Loose
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2011, 06:53:00 PM » |
|
I'd give A the preflop option to call or fold. If he calls, reshuffle the stub and deal a new flop.
No idea if it's 'correct' but it seems fairest all round.
This is what happened and player decided to fold
|
|
|
Logged
|
Ole Ole Ole Ole!
|
|
|
gatso
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2011, 06:55:42 PM » |
|
I'd give A the preflop option to call or fold. If he calls, reshuffle the stub and deal a new flop.
No idea if it's 'correct' but it seems fairest all round.
This is what happened and player decided to fold and got back the 10k or had to leave it in?
|
|
|
Logged
|
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
|
|
|
George2Loose
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2011, 07:00:25 PM » |
|
got back the 10k
|
|
|
Logged
|
Ole Ole Ole Ole!
|
|
|
gatso
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2011, 08:46:00 PM » |
|
got back the 10k
then I guess it's not a bad ruling. basically the same as if the dealer had put out the flop with a player still to act
|
|
|
Logged
|
If you get to the yeasty clunge you've gone too far
|
|
|
TommyD
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2011, 10:21:17 PM » |
|
If after being badly advised Player A said 'call' rather than silently putting the chips in, wouldn't he just get the 5k 'overcall' back and play the flop as is?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
WotRTheChances
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2011, 11:29:35 PM » |
|
Well either
A) The player should get given the option again as he was ill-advised by the dealer and the flop should be re-shuffled and dealt. (as happened)
or B) The player should be made to put in the extra 5k because he should be paying attention to the action.
I dont think either of these could be considered wrong rulings. Does anyone actually disagree with the ruling? Seems pretty fair to me, although I also agree with my 'B' option.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Cf
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2011, 11:42:08 PM » |
|
I'll just about accept either option is fine but I prefer the second. Would be pretty annoyed if I was the raiser and the flop was good for me. I'd be arguing it's not my fault the other player wasn't paying attention.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Blue text
|
|
|
cambridgealex
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2011, 11:47:14 PM » |
|
Definite grey area, both rules are fine I think.
I think if the guy announces "call" then he should have to put in whatever the bet amount was, regardless of what the dealer tells him. It is a clear dealer mistake but that's just tough luck. If he doesnt say anything but chucks in the 10k more then it's possible to go back, reshuffle etc and give him the option whether to call the entire 15k raise, or none of it.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Poker goals: [ ] 7 figure score [X] 8 figure score
|
|
|
|