Last night at Nottingham due to an elimination the player on my right posted the sole Big Blind.
He was eliminated and so the next hand I posted the sole BB and two players arrived and sat in the two seats to my right.
In this position, as the sole big blind had been eliminated, the button can remain where it is and the two new players can post the small blind and big blind immediately.
My understanding is that those two new players must sit out for the next two hands until I have the button.
If this happens, thats okay also. The button passes over them. It would have been easier to just deal them in, as nobody is posting more than they should and you still have the same net effect of the button remaining in place for an extra hand.
Okay, so I got my way for the first hand and the two players sat out.
Now it is my small blind and another player arrives and sits directly to my right.
He wants to be dealt in "on the button"
I see no problem with this person recieving a hand. The only time a player may not recieve a hand is when it causes a player to his left to have to post a blind twice twice. Eg, when a player arrives between the small blind and the button.
As I see it a player may not act last unless he has posted both blinds, so I think that all three of them have to sit out for one more hand until I have the button.
But the ruling was that a new player may come in "on the button".
No, theres no problem with this player recieving a hand.