Checkitdown
|
 |
« on: August 01, 2016, 06:27:36 AM » |
|
During a game of omaha ... £1/£2 5 limpers for £2, a person with £36 raises to £12 with 4 callers , last person now reraises to £22 ... guy with £36 now goes all in ... Next person now asks the dealer if the person who raised to £22 is allowed to reraise..... the players now starting to debate amongst themselves whether he can reraise or not .. the dealer tells the player that the raise is not an under raise and so the player can reraise if he wishes. My question is ... can the dealer advise whether someone can reraise or not .. and should other players also be discussing the matter while a hand is in progress  ?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
POWWWWWWWW
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2016, 09:49:05 AM » |
|
Yes of course, that's what they are there for.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
BorntoBubble
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2016, 11:22:04 AM » |
|
Yes dealer should take control of the table in this situation and explain the rule.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
RED-DOG
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2016, 12:09:04 PM » |
|
I agree in principle, but I do have some sympathy for the notion that the player should decide that he wants to raise before being advised that he can.
|
|
|
Logged
|
The older I get, the better I was.
|
|
|
Checkitdown
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2016, 04:30:56 PM » |
|
Hi guys .. sorry but maybe I haven't made this clear enough ... the player is not asking about himself but about another player.
Players 3 4 5 6 7 limp for £2 Player 8 now raises to £12 Player 1 and 2 fold Players 3 4 5 6 call £12 Player 7 now reraises to £22 Player 8 goes all in for £36
Player 3 now wants to call the bet but can't work out whether player 7 is allowed to reraise when the action goes back to him , so he asks the dealer if player 7 is allowed to reraise . This is where all the other players start getting involved and they all start discussing the matter.
Player 7 is a bit annoyed saying that it should be up to the player to calculate this for himself .. and questions whether it is right for the dealer and especially other players to advise a player on this matter... saying that maybe it is up to the player to calculate it himself but is not sure on the ruling himself .
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
RED-DOG
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2016, 04:40:16 PM » |
|
No. The player is perfectly entitled to ask, otherwise he could easily find out by announcing 'raise' and wait for the dealer to tell him he can't.
|
|
|
Logged
|
The older I get, the better I was.
|
|
|
SuuPRlim
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2016, 05:08:51 PM » |
|
yep ask away. If its a half decent deal it's a million times better him just being asked and telling the player rather than watching the guy with his fingers and toes out trying to figure it out. Nice fast game of poker 
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Checkitdown
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2016, 05:35:25 PM » |
|
Not sure you quite understand Red Dog .. player 3 only wants to call the £36 bet as long as he knows player 7 (or anybody else) cannot reraise . If he announces raise himself then hes gonna be held to at least a minimum raise himself .
Player 7 has deliberately raised to £22 knowing that if player 8 goes all in for £36 and other players call he can now reraise again when it comes round to him .. although some of the players think he can't reraise because they think the all in bet is not a minimum of £44 .
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
doubleup
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2016, 05:46:21 PM » |
|
I agree with RED-DOG (1st post). The dealer can state that the allin of player 8 is not an under-raise, but I don't think he should be allowed to say whether a specific player (player 7) can raise or not. The players should know the rules.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 01, 2016, 05:51:07 PM by doubleup »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Rexas
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2016, 07:48:16 PM » |
|
It's part of the dealer's job to be able to clarify the rules in situations like this imo, so I think player 3 is completely entitled to ask the question and receive the answer from the dealer.
|
|
|
Logged
|
humour is very much encouraged, however theres humour and theres not.
I disrepectfully agree with Matt 
|
|
|
DMorgan
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2016, 08:19:25 PM » |
|
I don't know what the letter of the law is about what a dealer can and can't say but I'd imagine that its better for all involved if the dealer can clarify the situation. Otherwise all you get is 9 different opinions and a 15 minute hand
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
nirvana
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2016, 11:17:47 PM » |
|
Of course you can ask "if I call, can x re-raise".
Don't even really know how this is controversial
|
|
|
Logged
|
sola virtus nobilitat
|
|
|
luther101
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2016, 12:57:30 PM » |
|
Not sure you quite understand Red Dog .. player 3 only wants to call the £36 bet as long as he knows player 7 (or anybody else) cannot reraise . If he announces raise himself then hes gonna be held to at least a minimum raise himself .
Player 7 has deliberately raised to £22 knowing that if player 8 goes all in for £36 and other players call he can now reraise again when it comes round to him .. although some of the players think he can't reraise because they think the all in bet is not a minimum of £44 .
The raise increments are 10, 10, 14 ..... 'some of the players' obviously should have got their toes out too, when their paucity of fingers caused such utter confusion.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
doubleup
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2016, 12:27:55 AM » |
|
Of course you can ask "if I call, can x re-raise".
Don't even really know how this is controversial
You can ask, but some might say the dealer should not reply, as they believe that it isn't within the dealer's remit to advise players on the rules of the game being dealt during a hand.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Checkitdown
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2016, 01:55:50 AM » |
|
That's why I posted on here ... thought maybe some experienced dealers / players would know whether a dealer can reply / advise during the hand .
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|